Cabbage Rolls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 15, 2014
My family said 'these are your best yet!'. I made some changes due to the fact I usually cook with a lot if spices/seasonings. For the sauce I used 28oz of diced tomatoes & 1 can of tomato soup. Added extra brown sugar & worsestershire. Added 6 bay leaves . The meat: I added some of the tomato sauce, extra onion, 4 garlic cloves & 1/4 teaspoon of allspice (I will use 1/2 tsp next time). So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Courtice, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I took in a number of reviewer suggestions (ie, increased the onion, added garlic powder, doubled the sauce, baked at 350 for 1 hr) but these improvements didn't help me any. The filling seemed mushy and bland, we needed steak knives to cut into the cabbage, and the in-your-face tomatoness of the sauce dominated the whole thing. Sooo many reviewers recommended baking, but I can't help but wonder if the slow cooker would have been better. This recipe seems to need so much punching up and fine tuning to turn out well, I think you're better off starting somewhere else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
This was a great recipe! I did change a few things which is why i'm giving it 4 stars. I added 2 cloves of minced garlic and 1 tsp of garlic powder to give it more flavor. I also used a can of san marzano whole peeled tomatoes and mashed with my hand for the sauce, thus making 4 times more sauce because I wanted more and I wanted it to be chunky. It was fantastic! And just as great the next day as leftovers. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Yum!!!! I always thought cabbage rolls were really difficult and time consuming to make! Not so!! I took the advice of another reviewer and froze the head of lettuce then let thaw to make the leaves easier to work with-WHAT A TIME SAVER!!! As I put them into the slow cooker I thought "as long as they taste ok this is the way to do it"-freezing the head of cabbage IS THE WAY TO DO IT!!! I also use ground turkey or chicken because I can't eat red meat-this works out perfectly-and I add extra rice to make it a bit more economical. I don't like when people change so many things about a recipe then say 5 stars but I feel the changes I've made are more for saving time/money and the original would be even better. *Note I do like non-stringy (very soft cabbage) cabbage rolls-like well boiled cabbage-that is how it turns out with the freezing method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Cabbage Rolls II Haiku: "Bit of work to make. But really worth the effort. Should've made double!" I followed the recipe's ingredient list exactly, only baking 350 for about an hour, partially-covered, due to not having the slow-cooker time available. The only things that I wish I'd done differently was add some minced garlic, and prep more for leftovers or for freezing b/c I felt like it was a quite a bit of work for the 12 rolls that fed 3 of us (one of whom was a 6 year old), but SHAZAM, we obliterated them all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
My husband loved these!! I added a can of diced tomatoes and doubled the brown sugar, lemon, and Worcestershire sause. I also cut up the unused cabbage and added it in with the diced tomatoes. Great recipe! Easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
It was too late in the day to cook these in the slow cooker, so I baked them at 350 degrees for about 1 hour. The filling I made exactly as written, but slightly modified the sauce. I substituted El Pato Salsa de Jalapeno tomato sauce to give it a little kick, and added some freshly-chopped ripe tomatoes which needed to be used up. I’ve made a number of stuffed cabbage roll recipes and although OK, always thought they were a little bland. That Mexican-style tomato sauce really made these incredibly tasty, my husband said he’d give them a “10.” This will now be my go-to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Excellent. I followed the recipe exactly, except I put it in the slow cooker on high for 5.5-6 hours (as opposed to low for 8-9). They came out very moist and tasty...I serve with a little hot sauce to add flavor. I disagree with some reviewers that you must double or quadruple the sauce. I don't like my stuffed cabbage soaked in tomato sauce and the amount the recipe calls for is just enough sauce to give a light coating. Of course if you want a lot of sauce you should make more, but I don't think its a 'must'. Very happy with the results...will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This recipe was delicious.My vegetarian daughter was visiting so reluctantly I used those non meat crumbles.It was a fun recipe.. peeling and stuffing the cabbage.I added a bit extra sauce to the recipe and the stuffing mixture.My daughter never had stuffed cabbage and informed me she didn't think she'd like it.Just the opposite she went back for seconds!My thanks to the contributor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
These were good but I did triple the amount of sauce as recommended by another reviewer. The saucier a dish is, the better I always say. I usually tend to taste the metallic flavor from canned tomatoes, so next time I'll use sauce from a jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake'n'Eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 821) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States