Cabbage Rolls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I've never had Cabbage rolls so I have no idea what they should taste like. I followed the recipe, except I tripled the sauce recipe. I did not want dry cabbage rolls. Once they were in the crockpot, I sprinkled salt and pepper and then poured the sauce. These were....eh...OK. Kinda plain, not very exciting. They weren't terrible or nasty, but they weren't anything I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Smelled bad, looked bad and...didn't taste too good. Really awful mushy texture. I used spaghetti sauce with a can of tomato paste added and I'm glad I did, because otherwise the blandness would've been intolerable. Thing is, I can see this working with a LOT of tweaks. But I'm not sure it'd be worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Excellent I used quinoa instead of white rice cream cheese no meat I used tomato basil bisque soup my family loved it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I agree with the others -- the sauce needed to be doubled. I also used 1/2 lb ground sausage and 1/2 pound ground beef to give it a little extra flavor. This was a great recipe. Definitely making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This was my first shot at cabbage rolls and it turned out great!! This is another one of those recipes that you can think of a million different ways to do it!! It's delish, as is, though. Loved it!! I wasn't thinking and did coleslaw as a side dish. It was a stinky evening at my house, too much cabbage!! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Loved this! Doubled the recipe itself and used most of my head of cabbage, and doubled the sauce recipe using Heinz roasted garlic tomato sauce. Added extra brown sugar, Worcestershire sauce and lemon than the recipe required. Made a great sauce! The doubled recipe plus doubled sauce took up most of the room in my 6 qt slow cooker, and after taking them out there was a LOT of watery leftover sauce in the pot. I wouldn't make more sauce than I did unless I was going to put it on top of the finished rolls when I pop them in the oven to reheat. I used a stock pot to blanch my cabbage, and before putting it in I stuck a kebab skewer through the core, which made it SO easy to put in and out of the pot between peeling off leaves. No splashing boiling water and gave me something to grab that wasn't hot while peeling my leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Awesome. As others have stated in their reviews, doubling the sauce is a must. I used brown rice cooked in chicken stock. went with Italian herb ground turkey and added 3 cloves of minced garlic, pinch of smoked paprika, 1/8 tsp of dry mustard, 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper, 1/3 cup of chopped Italian parsley, and backed off on the salt and pepper to 1/2 tsp and 1tsp, respectively. Topped it off with 2 cups of sauerkraut and a small strip of bacon on each roll and baked 1 hr at 350 in a glass pan covered with foil. Discarded the bacon, garnished with Italian parsley sprigs and served - was a big hit! Also try this dish on a smaller scale cutting the cabbage leaves in half and stuffing with 1-2 Tbs for a fabulous finger food appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Cave Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This is a very good basic recipe. I only tweaked it a little to make it a bit more flavorful. I added 2t of Worcestershire and 2T of Parmesano Reggiano to the meat mixture. I also simply baked it in the oven, covered with foil, at 375 for 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hopewell, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
The husband loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
So easy and so rich and yummy! I made these for a school luncheon and they were a big hit. I made them in my slow cooker and they came out delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene Burns

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 843) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States