Cabbage Rolls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I looooove my moms cabbage rolls she always made it for me so when I moved away I really really missed it. I decided to try this recipe and I'm glad I did! It tastes just like my moms sarma. It does need a bit of help though. I used kisili kupus. (Sour cabbage) it's important to cut off the spine of each leaf. I used half extra lean ground beef and ground pork like my mom did. I put a small can of tomato sauce right in the mixture and a bit more onions and 3 cloves of minced garlic. I didn't use that much black pepper either. Mixed it with my hand and I rolled em up and put them in the slow cooker. I put a bunch of water in there too enough to submerge the rolls. I cooked on high for 4 1/2 hours and half way through I made zaprska in a pan (heated some oil and fried some flour for a minute then put paprika in it) added that then added a tall can of hunts tomato sauce. But i had to put more water in cuz it soaked up almost all the water! It definitely needs this help. Otherwise it would get 5 stars but tastes so good this way with mashed potatoes. I made quite a bit like 18 I think. I got a small head of sour cabbage. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
These were awesome. I doubled the recipe, and made it as is. I think I'll add a little something next time...maybe minced radish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
This was absolutely delicious! Exactly what I was looking for. I made the recipe exactly as-is with 80% lean ground beef and it turned out fabulous. Next time I will try doubling the sauce but this recipe is great. We had to fight over leftovers! XD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FemBot

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I used A-1 instead of Worcestershire, brown rice, and spaghetti sauce, since that is what I had on hand. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
I found the meat mixture with the cabbage tasty but the rice turned out too mushy.. thinking that cooked rice gets overcooked with 9 hrs in a crockpot.. wondering if I should have used raw rice? Suggest serving with plain yogurt as a topping instead of sour cream. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Wanting to try this for awhile now, it left my family underwhelmed. I was let down by the sauce, and that's the main reason I wanted to try this recipe! I doubled it per popular suggestion and still found myself doctoring it up with more brown sugar and worcestershire, as well as onion/garlic powders. I used a can of Campbell's Tomato Bisque soup for the base and laid all 12 rolls over that in a 9x13 baking dish. Used savoy cabbage without any issues, used the 90-second rice in a bag, cooled. Used 1/2 lean hamburger and 1/2 Italian sausage, well-seasoned, and only 1/8 cup milk. Baked covered tightly with foil at 350 for 1 hour 15 minutes. This dish has so much potential, so I'll definitely do this over with some major tweaking. I appreciate the basic idea of this dish and will use it as a springboard to cater to my family's tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
This recipe was ok but a little bland and maybe a little too sweet. I took other reviewers' advice and doubled the sauce. I added a 14 oz can of diced tomatoes to the 8 oz can of tomato sauce and mashed the diced tomatoes up a little bit, and then added the lemon juice, brown sugar, and Worchestershire sauce. I added 2 cloves of garlic to the meat mixture and I used ground turkey instead of beef. I baked it at 350 degrees for 1 hour instead of making it in the slow cooker as one other reviewer recommended because I was pressed for time. We do like cabbage rolls so I will try this again, but next time I will add more spices and less brown sugar. I will make it in the slow cooker too, to give the flavors more time to blend. This recipe has potential but in my family's opinion it needs just more of a spicy flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
It's okay but could be much better. I not only doubled the sauce but added a 14oz can of diced tomatoes. i love black pepper but There is too much black pepper, it drowns out the other flavors. I would recommend using less black pepper and added additional onions and some minced garlic in he meat mixture. Also could use a little more rice as well. I used brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I chose this recipe because I needed to use the cabbages in the garden. I doubled the sauce and cooked everything on low for 8 hours. I should have quadrupled the sauce so the filling didn't taste so dry. I intended to use slices of sour dough bread to sop up the liquid sauce, but there wasn't any sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Very good! Used more tomato sauce than requested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 817) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States