Cabbage Rolls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I made this recipe a while back. I doubled the sauce and add extra garlic and spices to the meat but even with the extra help it was still bland. However what was most disappointing was the bland tomato sauce. I made this in the crockpot, maybe the oven would have helped the flavor? The sauce would improve greatly with more seasonings and maybe some fresh herbs to boost the flavor. I feel like the concept has potential and like the idea of a slow cooker meal, but neither my hubby or boys liked the meat/rice combo or bitter soggy cabbage leaves---so sadly I'm outvoted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parkermama

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Clementon, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Cabbage came out watery/mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
The sauce was completely dried up on top of the cabbage and burned around the edges. The filler was essentially flavorless....I did 8 hours on low, in a crockpot that we use all the time for other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
The sauce was decent, but the filler was bland. For the effort involved I probably won't make it again. On the other hand, if you don't mind the effort to form the rolls, beef+rice offer a lot of options to experiment with spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
This is recipe is great. Haven't had cabbage rolls in years, and this hit the spot. I did follow others suggestions and 3x's the sauce, and added a touch of garlic powders to the ground beef. Can't wait to have left overs for lunch today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Made these with ground turkey and they were so yummy. I even forgot to add the rice so I just dumped it on top and came out fine. I used wild rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethany68

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Amazing!! This was so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I love this recipe...and so does my hubby. I followed the directions and put in oven on 350 for an hour. I doubled the sauce and used black rice and red onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly. It was delicious. It was very simple to put together and using the slow cooker was a bonus! I made them, turned on the cooker and the house smelled great all day. My entire family yummed these up (even the baby!). This will be a staple in our home from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom2Three

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Made it pretty much as described (used a little white sugar because I didn't have brown on hand) and it is delicious! Every crock pot cooks somewhat differently, and I cooked it on high for about 2 hours to make up for lost time, and then on low for another 2-3 hours. It's yummy! Also, whoever suggested freezing the cabbage is a genius! No need to boil the leaves beforehand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Kilgore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 871) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States