Cabbage Rolls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Treid these last night. I think it's a great base for a recipe. Given the fact I made changes to suit my own taste, I gave it a 3. Added additional spices to my meat mixture, as well as my sauce. I like bold flavours, so the basics just don't cut it for me. I also had a massive head of cabbage, so I used half a cup of filling per roll. They were huge, but sooo good! I also cooked them in the oven rather than slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
So Saturday, I got an email from allrecipes featuring this one for cabbage rolls. I read some of the reviews, applied the suggestions of other cooks, and they turned out really great! Modifications: I prepared the cabbage by peeling of the outside leaves, cutting out the core and putting it in very hot/boiling water. The leaves came off the head without tearing! And, I added garlic to the meat, which is a MUST, and I doubled the sauce. Oh, and I didn't have any lemon juice, so I substituted half as much apple cider vinegar. I also cut up the rest of the cabbage into bite-sized pieces and threw it in... Terrific meal! I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I really liked this recipe. Next time, I will remember to reduce the amount of pepper I just forgot this suggestion from others! I may also chop off the remnant cabbage and make a bed to put the rolls on and then pour the sauce. I may also not really double the recipe's sauce. Mine came out with too much of it. My 4 star rating stands mostly for the pepper content which I find too peppery for my taste and my stomach can not handle it well either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
I made these for my Polish mother-in-law and my husband (who has eaten her family's recipe his whole life) and I got 2 thumbs up. She gave me a few suggestions based on her recipe. I do double the sauce recipe. I layer the rolls,sauce and sauerkraut in the crock pot this way.. little sauce, rolls, more sauce, sauerkraut then next layer of rolls, sauce, sauerkraut. End with sauce. Sometimes I sneak in brown rice instead of white and my husband never notices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I too cooked the cabbage first so it was easier to roll. I sautéed up onion and garlic and added it to my meat mix along with some Italian sausage. Added some spices and upped the flavor. Crock pot the first time, came out good, trying it in the oven this time bc I don't want to wait till tomorrow to have it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
We loved this dish- with some modification. I followed recommendations made by others and doubled the sauce, and added a little water. I upped the seasonings quite a lot, and used 1/2 fresh polish sausage (homemade) and 1/2 lean ground beef. I think this recipe would have been quite bland without those additional seasonings and changes. Will make again. Here's a tip by the way- don't bother to boil the cabbage. Just put the cored cabbage in a pie plate, loosely cover it with plastic wrap and microwave it for 5-6 minutes. It steams perfectly and cuts way down on time and hot boiling water. The leaves just peel right off. If the inner leaves are still too stiff, stick it back in the microwave for an additional 2 minutes or so. Super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Yum, this is very good. Like many other reviewers I doubled the sauce. I also used fresh garlic because I love garlic. I also cooked it in the oven otherwise I would have been eating at midnight. Thank you to Merkleda (post from 2/3/09). So easy to cook the cabbage. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Very tasty but sauce is skimpy, even when I doubled it. Next time, I will triple it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Great with some minor changes. U doubled the sauce and cooked it in the oven at 350 for an hour and a half covered with foil . Will do this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I love cabbage rolls, and I really enjoyed these, although because of dietary concerns I had to omit the brown sugar. However the fiance wasn't completely hooked. So next time I substituted cayenne pepper (to taste) for the brown sugar instead of simply omitting it, in order to give the tomato sauce the little something it was lacking the first time around. They were VERY well received like that!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 842) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States