Cabbage Rolls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Yummy yummy! I did a few things different. I did this on the stove over low heat for about 2 hours, which did result in all the liquid being sucked up (my fault) so the only thing I had left was a can of diced tomatoes with I threw in there and cooked until heated through. We LOVED this! Very flavorful, and the texture is great! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
5 + stars: the other reviews were very helpful. I tried both frozen and steamed cabbage; i preferred steam. I also tripled of sauce - combined with diced tomatoes and baked it for an hour instead of using the slow cooker. Delicious...... Will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I made this almost like your suggestion and it was awsome, instead of the tomato soup I used Hunts, four cheese tomato sauce and it was awsome. I used Cavenders greek seasoning in the meat also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Matney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dunnellon, Florida, USA
Living In: Monticello, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
This recipe was decent...though there was just something about it that was off for me. Maybe different spices next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
This is the best cabbage roll recipe ever! Even my mom asked ME how I made it. :-) I did change a few things to fit my diet and needs. I omitted the rice. I also used 1/2 ground beef and 1/2 Italian sausage. I also added a can of stewed tomatoes on top for extra juice. YUMMY, and fairly low-carb this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
This is a good, reliable reference recipe, one you can put your own spin on and still feel confident about its basic structure. That said, I added fresh garlic and parsley, and cooked the rice in beef broth. I used a multi-purpose steak type seasoning in lieu of just salt and pepper. As for the sauce, I skipped the sugar and lemon juice and used my own tomato sauce put up from my garden, about three cups worth – plenty to spoon over the cabbage rolls as well as for the garlic horseradish mashed potatoes I served them with. Rather than the slow cooker, I baked them in the oven, about an hour and 15 minutes, covered, at 350 degrees. I had extra meat mixture which I just rolled into Porcupine Meatballs and baked alongside the cabbage rolls. This was nothing fancy, just plain good old–fashioned comfort food, but do add some seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Absolutely delicious! Just the way I remember my mom making them as a kid :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Meriden, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Instead of ground beef, I boiled 2lbs. of chicken breast with just enough water to cover. I sauteed scallions and garlic and added it to the shredded cooked chicken. I then followed the recipe adding milk, egg, salt and pepper, then the cooked rice (which I used half white/ half brown-and half water/ half chicken broth). Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
this is good I grew up with this recipe and my grandparents made it all the time its best to use tomato soup instead of tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emerilett16

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Just not sure what happened. Followed recipe exactly and there was just no flavor at all. So disappointing as it smelled great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 875) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States