Cabbage Rolls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Although these were good they were way too sweet for my taste. I grew up eating more traditional cabbage rolls that were cooked in tomato juice but like to try different versions. I would make these again but not use so much brown sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Recently had a little Polish lady teach me her recipe. One of her secrets is to slip slivers of fresh garlic in between the rolls before cooking- she bakes these in a roasting pan, actually. Also, she uses slices of bacon in between the layers as well. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
These were very tasty using the tips from another member, thanks! I added garlic powder, 1/2 onion, and tripled the sauce. Perfect. Using the 1/4 cup measure made it easy to stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
this was good...but found the sauce a bit bland so I added some garlic salt..perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Need Help!!! My meat mixture was dry and hard. Growing up, I remember the meat almost falling apart when you were eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Easy and yummy. It's like meatloaf in a cabbage! I also doubled the sauce and made extras. Is it wrong that I had the leftovers for breakfast this morning?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Massapequa, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I thought this was ok. I ate a lot of cabbage rolls growing up and I don't remember them being sweet. I think if I try this again I will o it the brown sugar or just use less. And the directions should state to par-boil the whole cabbage to losen the leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
A nice basic recipe for cabbage rolls. No need to pre cook the rice, and I grated the onion instead of chopping it. I used 2-28 oz. cans of tomato sauce and put dried bay leaf on top of the sauce before baking. I used a combination of ground beef and ground pork, and had some of the meat mixture left over and made them into tiny meatballs and added them to the casserole dish with the cabbage rolls. I also sprinkled the cabbage leaves with salt before putting the meat mixture on and rolling them up. When I cooked them in a pot on top of the stove I always had to use tooth picks to keep the rolls from falling apart, but with baking them, no need to do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cheektowaga, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This is a keeper...I followed other reviewers and doubled the sauce, which is delicious! I also added about 5 garlic cloves (minced) - personal preference and had to use lime juice because that's what I had on-hand...oh, and I used ground pork because that's what I had. Baked covered for an hour @ 350. Perfect...my 5 and 3 year old boys loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I have a Large (I think its a 6 quart) slow cooker. I doubled the recipe, quadrupled the sauce, and CHOPPED the cabbage. I formed the meat mixture into balls (using a bag of frozen, steamable microwave white rice). Then used a half head of chopped cabbage spread on top and then poured the sauce on the top of that. I cooked it on HIGH for 5 hours. It came out really yummy. Good comfort food for a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 849) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States