Cabbage Rolls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Family loved this recipe. Will definitely make for years to come. Just microwave the cabbage and the leaves will peel easily. Definitely double the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Great idea. I did these in the crockpot and it worked out great. I did put the cabbage in the freezer as suggested by another reviewer and avoided boiling the cabbage. IT WORKED LIKE A CHARM. THANK YOU FOR THAT SUPER TIP!!! I will never boil cabbage again for cabbage rolls. I also reduced the pepper to 3/4 tsp as suggested by another reviewer. I kept this sauce as is but my Mom would use tomato soup and I like it better but kept this one as some people may like a tangier version. If cooking in oven, I would double the sauce, if using the crockpot the crockpot generates enough water so I found the measurements listed from BJ sufficient. I used 93% hamburger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I'm sorry to say that the flavours in the recipe were just way too basic and didn't satisfy my craving for a good cabbage roll dinner. The sauce was too sweet and the whole dish was way too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Banars

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
These were delicious! Like others I also wanted more sauce so I used a 14 oz. can of tomato sauce and also added a can of "diced tomatoes in sauce" (I love tomatoes and will use any excuse to sneak them into a recipe if I can.) They were pretty soupy which is OK by me but may be too much for others. I think next time I will keep the diced tomatoes but only use the 8 oz. can of sauce as in the recipe. Notice I said "next time" ... I will definitely be making these again!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Fantastic. Took a little bit to prepare, but the entire family ate this like we were going to the chair. I opened the fridge the next morning before work and died a little inside when I learned that my wife took ALL of the leftovers to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
No flavor. Will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Welch

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Culpeper, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Substituted ground beef with ground turkey. Came out great!! Followed the rest of the recipe exactly. I will be making again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Amazing! So most and delicious. I through mine in a Dutch oven and put it in the oven for three hours at 250. The longer you can cook them the better the flavor is but it cooks in an hour thoroughly. I also added 1 teaspoon of cumin, half a teaspoon of cinnamon, 1 teaspoon of garlic powder, 3 tablespoons of parsley, and 1/2 of cayenne pepper to the meat and rice mixture. I used 1/2lb of ground lamb and 1/2lb of ground beef. Good base recipe but add whatever you want to spice it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Vu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This was so delicious and worth the time to put it together. I will make it again and double the recipe to freeze a portion. I used the suggestions of adding beef broth to the rice cooker, garlic powder, half ground beef and half ground pork, and then top the whole thing off with strips of bacon. Just wonderful and spicy from all the pepper. My only problem was getting the leaves off the cabbage in one piece. It came off in shreds. I boiled the cabbage as instructed but did it after taking the leaves off the head. It was a pitiful presentation with little chunks instead of rolls, but nobody cared because is was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MMMICHELLE
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
The kids liked these; they are simple and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 864) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States