Cabbage Rolls I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
This was great! Thank you for the recipe! Though, I did change a few things when I made it. I did not use cinnamon or bread crumbs. I added a little ground pepper, oregano, and caraway seeds to the mixture, instead. I poured some tomato sauce on the bottom of the pan and lined the bottom of the pan with some of the large, green, outer leaves of the cabbage so the rolls would not burn. Then I set the rolls on top and poured a can of tomato sauce over the top of the rolls. I did not individually wrap each roll in foil. I covered the whole baking dish with foil and cooked at 350 degrees for 1 hour. Then I uncovered the dish, and continued cooking for 30 minutes. I served with extra cooked rice. We really enjoyed it! Next time I do want to try them with the cinnamon, but my dinner partner doesn't like cinnamon so I left it out for the first time that I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
My mother's is very similar! Only instead of putting the cinnamon and tomatoes inside, we add tomato soup (mixed with cinnamon) and diced tomatoes over them in a casserole dish and bake! (We also put the rice in uncooked and let it cook in the oven).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caribou, Maine, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2001
Tasty filling. Next time I will try adding a tomatoe sauce over the rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
This recipe was terrible! I should have listened to my instinct and browned the ground beef before assembling the cabbage rolls. After more than 50 minutes of cooking, the filling was a pinkish, pile of mush--inedible. I threw all of the rolls into the garbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Great recipe!!! Changed a few things to make it easier. Used Hunt's spaghetti sauce insted of whole canned tomatoes. Great if you don't like chunks of tomato. Browned the meat and added onions, 1/2 the sauce, minced garlic, uncooked rice and bread crumbs. Used one big baking dish and covered it with the rest of the sauce. Spinkled with cheese the last 10 min of baking. My kids couldn't get enough!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
Thanks, Becky = this recipe was just what I was looking for= I have lost mine from years ago and this is so much better!!! Much less work also - the cinnamon makes it taste so creamy and rich. I did not wrap each in foil = simply placed rolls carefully in an aluminum "loaf" type pan and covered with foil = much better than boiling or cooking with meat! Using the pans is just a time saver. Moist, delicious, tasty!!! Again = thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Good but save a step and use instant rice. That's what I do and it tastes great and there's one less pan to clean. No need to browned beef as one reviewer suggested. If all the ingredients are put together, rolled in a cabbage leave and cooked, then the dish will come out perfect. Again I say, stop using rice that needs to be cooked ahead of time. Instant rice will cook up in the juices that the meat and tomato sauce create.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozark, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
My husband thanks you dearly. Such a picky man, but he fell in love with this saying it reminds him of grandma's, but he remembers her being in the kitchen for much longer than it seemed to have taken me to make these. Either way, great recipe! Will definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Good taste. For me it makes almost 20 with an avg size head of cabbage and it's better to get 2 heads to get the big leafs that make it easier to wrap. Browning the beef shortens baking time- I did 30min. Didn't need to use a toothpick, wrapping in foil is good enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I modified the recipe a bit. I browned the meat and sauteed the onions ahead of time. I'm glad I did, because following the baking instructions barely heated the rolls through all the way. Part of that is because I made 6 larger rolls. I reserved the tomato sauce from the canned tomatoes to pour over top along with some extra tomato sauce. Next time I'll cook for longer - these tasted much better text day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States