Cabbage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
My husband and I thought these turned out so delicious! I'm not an expert cabbage-roll-roller because they fell apart (I think blanching the cabbage leaves first would help), and the tomato soup burned to the bottom a bit but it didn't affect the flavour at all. Definitely will be making a double batch next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I love this recipe. It's the exact same that has been in my family for over 50 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Savannah Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
I LOVE this recipe--my ex-sister in law made this same recipe in lieu of the recipe her Hungarian mother made (which I watched her mom make once when I was young and liked to fuss in kitchen and which also required small amounts of game--not for me--she ground her own venison, beef and pork together) but SIL tweaked the sauce a bit--I myself remember her adding ketchup but she also used the tomato soup that the recipe calls for--I loved the way it came out (with a couple of tablespoons of ketchup and 2 tbls. of tomato paste to amp up sauce a bit--that's why I buy a TUBE of tomato paste at the store) and made it for son-in-law who LOVED it also--but he put Tobasco in his--I put on a sprinkling of paprika prior to cooking and liked mine just fine. FOR THE 1st time users--if you like this--next time make a goodly amount of meat filling --like 2x-3x of recipe--and freeze in bags--also for newbs--Get a big pot and put the cleaned up head of cabbage in there and let it simmer--outer leaves will start to loosen up--I trim the center rib off for easier rolling--with the leftover cabbage--I take a few more of the destroyed outer leaves--(it happens)--and line the pot with them to prevent sticking--the rest go to make Allrecipes Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup (which the family doesn't realize is fat burning)--for the soup--I use Chicken broth or stock and cook the vegs in there and add a can of stewed or crushed tomatoes to sweeten flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I would make mine similar but mix egg , green onions, garlic , black pepper , a touch of sirachi pepper sauce and soy sauce to it..and i used Savoy cabbage..Goes really well with steamed rice..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2001
The rolls had a wonderful flavour to them. Quite easy to make but a little time consuming. Overall it was a recipe i will repeat in using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
These were quite easy to make and flavourful but how the heck do you get the leaves off the cabbage without ripping them?! I added paprika to the meat mixture and, instead of boiling for an hour and a half I used a pressure pan - HIGH setting for 20 minutes and it worked out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
This was an easy way to delicious cabbage rolls. But here's what to do different next time to avoid some major problems: Use fattier ground meat (using dry rice in the meat sucks up any moisture and drys out the meat.) Microwave your cabbage a little to soften it and give it some water content (recipe calls for using raw cabbage which really doesn't get the right amount of steaming when cooking and the cabbage comes out rubbery and chewy). Also remove the thick veins on each cabbage leaf as they take longer to cook. Also add some ketchup for a sweet and sour taste, plus I add more sugar since I like my cabbage rolls sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
I used the remainder of a chinese cabbage I had and found it easy to roll up after I had microwaved the leaves for a few minutes. I used 250g ground pork,100g rice,i small onion and 1/2 teaspoon minced garlic.I added a teaspn or so of sweet paprika and a tin of tomatos (instead of the condensed soup)which i put through the blender with a teaspn of minced garlic.If I make it again I will be sure to add tomato paste because the flavours were quite bland.(my husband put tobasco sauce on his).I baked it in oven for hour and half at 200C.We ate the lot without extra rice or potato on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jasi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I blanced the entire cabbage head for 20minutes in hot water and then cold. The leaves come off easier and roll better. I still baked them about an hour. Also I didn't use meat, but added green pepper, and made tomato sauce from tomato juice, garlic, basil, oregano, some onions and green peppers. They were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice Dupler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Flavor is good but I got so frustrated trying to roll these buggers. I ended up lining the bottom of a baking dish with tomato mixture laying cabbage over it, followed by meat mixture, then more cabbage etc (like lasagna). Then baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Kinney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Troutville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States