Cabbage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2001
The rolls had a wonderful flavour to them. Quite easy to make but a little time consuming. Overall it was a recipe i will repeat in using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2001
This one just wasn't for us, no one really cared for it... maybe next time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
I might be me, it might be the cabbage, or it might be the recipe, I wasn't craving more when I finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easley, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
My husband and I thought these turned out so delicious! I'm not an expert cabbage-roll-roller because they fell apart (I think blanching the cabbage leaves first would help), and the tomato soup burned to the bottom a bit but it didn't affect the flavour at all. Definitely will be making a double batch next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I love this recipe. It's the exact same that has been in my family for over 50 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Savannah Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
Unfortunately the recipe wasn't quite as flavorful as I had hoped. I think it was mostly the cabbage's addition (even though its called Cabbage Rolls) that gave it an odd flavor. However, the filling was quite good when it was made into meatballs and baked with mushroom soup instead. Maybe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChrisMac

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
These were quite easy to make and flavourful but how the heck do you get the leaves off the cabbage without ripping them?! I added paprika to the meat mixture and, instead of boiling for an hour and a half I used a pressure pan - HIGH setting for 20 minutes and it worked out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
I used the remainder of a chinese cabbage I had and found it easy to roll up after I had microwaved the leaves for a few minutes. I used 250g ground pork,100g rice,i small onion and 1/2 teaspoon minced garlic.I added a teaspn or so of sweet paprika and a tin of tomatos (instead of the condensed soup)which i put through the blender with a teaspn of minced garlic.If I make it again I will be sure to add tomato paste because the flavours were quite bland.(my husband put tobasco sauce on his).I baked it in oven for hour and half at 200C.We ate the lot without extra rice or potato on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jasi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I have been a cook for a while, at home and professionally. I always make the recipe exactly to spec's, the first time. this recipe needs LOTS of work, the basics are there, thats it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
This was an easy way to delicious cabbage rolls. But here's what to do different next time to avoid some major problems: Use fattier ground meat (using dry rice in the meat sucks up any moisture and drys out the meat.) Microwave your cabbage a little to soften it and give it some water content (recipe calls for using raw cabbage which really doesn't get the right amount of steaming when cooking and the cabbage comes out rubbery and chewy). Also remove the thick veins on each cabbage leaf as they take longer to cook. Also add some ketchup for a sweet and sour taste, plus I add more sugar since I like my cabbage rolls sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States