Cabbage Roll Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
I really enjoyed this soup! It taste just like cabbage rolls and is very hearty and filling. I agree with the serving suggestions but I would say it is more like 10 to 12 servings because it is so thick and filling. I found it almost too thick and I would add a little more water next time to give it more of a soup texture. It is a great recipe and I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Durham Region, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Even the kids and dad liked this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian S.
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
There is an error in the number of servings. This recipe will actually makes a huge pot of soup, about 8-10 servings. Of course this will change the nutritional information as well and therefore makes it much healthier than originally stated. Hope you enjoy it! Lillian S.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Loved this recipe!! I substituted the jar of pasta sauce with a 28 oz. can of Tutorusso Crushed Tomatoes with basil and instead of using a head of cabbage, I used a 14 oz. bag of shredded cole slaw mix (only for the sake of time and convenience). I also doubled the beef and added a bit more rice. I also seasoned the beef with a few envelopes of G. Washington beef flavored powdered bullion. Feel free to substitute the water with beef broth, too. This recipe makes a pretty large pot of soup. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
My family loved this soup. I cut back on the amount of tomato sauce. Taste before adding entire can of tomato sauce. Recipe does make a large pot of soup. Thanks for the receipe, it is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This is a good hearty soup! I did tweak it after reading some reviews. I browned the meat with the onions and seasoned it with black pepper, salt and garlic. I only used half of the pasta sauce and added a can of diced tomatoes. I also added some celery salt after I mixed it all together. Simple recipe and my boyfriend loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I felt like having cabbage rolls but did not feel like doing all of the work....this was a great alternative! I used homemade pasta sauce and I browned the onions with the meat and added minced garlic to the meat as well. When it was finished cooking I added a few dashes of hot sauce just to give it some kick. Will def add this into my rotation of recipes! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I did cut the rice down to 1 cup and upped the water in the soup to 5 cups from the 2 cups the recipe called for. Tasted very close to cabbage rolls. I would try maybe adding more meat and maybe adding a pork/beef/veal mix like I would when I do Cabbage Rolls. Makes lots of a very thick soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Great! I too tweaked it by adding V-8 juice instead of the pasta sauce because I wanted more of a soup consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ortiz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
It was good, but it tasted nothing like actual cabbage rolls, and turned into less of a soup than what could have been a filling for a roll or peppers or something. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States