Cabbage Roll Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lillian S.
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
There is an error in the number of servings. This recipe will actually makes a huge pot of soup, about 8-10 servings. Of course this will change the nutritional information as well and therefore makes it much healthier than originally stated. Hope you enjoy it! Lillian S.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Yes, this recipe did need about 3 additional cups of water to make it soup. I also had to add more spices (oregano, basil, worcestershire sauce and minced garlic) in order to give it more flavor. The concept is good but you need to be creative to give it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I felt like having cabbage rolls but did not feel like doing all of the work....this was a great alternative! I used homemade pasta sauce and I browned the onions with the meat and added minced garlic to the meat as well. When it was finished cooking I added a few dashes of hot sauce just to give it some kick. Will def add this into my rotation of recipes! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Great! I too tweaked it by adding V-8 juice instead of the pasta sauce because I wanted more of a soup consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ortiz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This is a good hearty soup! I did tweak it after reading some reviews. I browned the meat with the onions and seasoned it with black pepper, salt and garlic. I only used half of the pasta sauce and added a can of diced tomatoes. I also added some celery salt after I mixed it all together. Simple recipe and my boyfriend loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I did cut the rice down to 1 cup and upped the water in the soup to 5 cups from the 2 cups the recipe called for. Tasted very close to cabbage rolls. I would try maybe adding more meat and maybe adding a pork/beef/veal mix like I would when I do Cabbage Rolls. Makes lots of a very thick soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I'm a sad momma with this recipe tonight. For starters, it has not where near enough water to make it a soup. Secondly, almost no flavor, I had to add TONS of salt, and Herbs de Provance, and a bunch of other spices just to make it edible. Thirdly, Hubby and I agreed that it was far to acidic. And finally, it scorched in the "bring to a boil" step. It would have been nice if someone had mentioned to stir often. I know I should have just known to do this, but a little reminder would have saved a whole pot of food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Photo by Kitchen Kitty
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
pretty good soup, but very thick. I added diced tomatoes and used a brown rice/quinoa mixture. I also added some dried herbs (oregano, basil, garlic) and worcester. I parboiled my cabbage in the microwave while I browned the onions/meat mixture. I served with sour cream and cheese, but it tastes nice without as well. Made such a big pot, that I'll be freezing it for several meals. Kids even ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Loved this recipe!! I substituted the jar of pasta sauce with a 28 oz. can of Tutorusso Crushed Tomatoes with basil and instead of using a head of cabbage, I used a 14 oz. bag of shredded cole slaw mix (only for the sake of time and convenience). I also doubled the beef and added a bit more rice. I also seasoned the beef with a few envelopes of G. Washington beef flavored powdered bullion. Feel free to substitute the water with beef broth, too. This recipe makes a pretty large pot of soup. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Even the kids and dad liked this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States