Cabbage Roll Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Yeah, I'm trying to figure out what happened here. I read A LOT of reviews and nobody mentioned that this wouldn't fit in the pan. Recipe calls for 3 1/2 lb cabbage. I used 2 1/2 lb cabbage and it was to the rim before I even added the broth. I was able to get half of the broth in there. High maintenance dish. A lot of work removing, stirring, and trying to fit the rest of broth in there along the way. Long story short: took 2 1/4 hours to properly cook cabbage and rice. In addition to seasoning the ground beef with S&P while browning it, I added 3T lemon juice, 2T Worcestershire sauce, and 3T brown sugar to tomato sauce because that is how I make my cabbage rolls and was shocked that we had to add additional salt and pepper once it was plated. But, I have to say, although it ended up being more work than making traditional cabbage rolls, we liked it better and will make it this way from now on, but in a bigger pan to eliminate the drama that it was:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mamamel
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I took cyndib's advice and made the whole thing on the stovestop; worked like a charm!!! After browning the beef in my large stock pot, I added the rest of the ingredients except the cabbage. I brought it to a boil, reduced to a simmer, and put the cabbage on top of it all (didn't stir it). Put the lid on and let everything simmer for 15 minutes; cabbage was nicely steamed and rice got cooked. I halved the recipe since I only have a family of 3, and that was very easy to do. Overall I really liked the flavor, though I did add plenty of salt, pepper, garlic powder, and 1Tb of brown sugar (to cut the tomato acidity). Nothing beats a homemade cabbage roll, but this was a good way to cheat :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamamel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Even my ultra picky husband loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LTISONE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
This is a good basic recipe, but it is kind of bland. On the other hand, everyone in my family was willing to eat it which is nothing short of a minor miracle. The kids aren't really into cabbage, so the fact that they ate it and said it was good... Now, I did spice it up and make a substitution or two. I used only 1 pound of ground lean turkey. I fried some frozen onions in a little grapeseed oil, added the ground turkey and cooked until it was browned. I like a little white wine to flavor my onion and ground turkey, so added a good splash of vermouth and let it reduce to almost nothing while I chopped the cabbage. Instead of tomato sauce I used crushed tomatoes and I used instant brown rice. To spice it up I added a tsp of crushed garlic, 1/8 tsp thyme, and "a bit" of freshly ground black pepper. I let it simmer covered on the stovetop for 30 minutes so everything got well cooked. Then I tasted it and added about 1.5 cups of sour cream. I served it with Emeril's Essence on the side so we could all add it to our own taste. In every other way I pretty much followed the recipe proportions and ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wayland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Wow! What a winner!! Did not change the recipe at all. Made enough for two meals and didn't have a teaspoon left over. Great to make and it is easy. A real keeper. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat's

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I gave this 4/5 bcs of 2 factors: 1) I think cooking this dish this way is inspired, as it gives you so much more ability to fine tune the textures and flavours of your ingredients. 2) I'm not a fair critic of cabbage rolls. I'm not sure I've ever tasted one, as my culinary background & training is Asian, Italian & French, not to mention I don't know much about casseroles. Basically, I have no clue about this recipe style. I thought the recipe would be too bland for my taste, & listened to the reviewers who commented on that. To add flavour, I took a screaming hot cast iron, tossed the onions about a bit to get some browning but not soften them too much, then popped them in a bowl. I added garlic, whole fennel seed, a few cloves & some oregano to a bit more oil in the still HOT pan & flashed them, Asian style, for under a minute to pop their flavour. Then I tossed in the meat - the pan was still hot enough not to stew it. Meanwhile, in my larger cast iron I sauteed the rice risotto style to give it more flavour & bite. When it was a light tan colour I tossed in everything else, including the meat, tossed it well, covered the pan with foil & stuffed it in the oven. I cooked it for about an hour, stirring a few times & checking the moisture levels. It was still not quite as flavourful as I'd have liked, but the cabbage had the perfect chew, the rice was tender but not mushy & I liked the flavour combinations. Cheap, fun and easy - with leftovers. Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
So easy and quick to make and tasted the same but less work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This recipe is very good! Like others suggested, more spices is definitely a good thing. I also added my rice to my ground beef/onion mixture. Once I drained the beef/onion mixture, I put the rice in and covered the pan and let them simmer for about 10 minutes before continuing on with the remainder of the recipe. This is very delicious and even better reheated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Perfectly delicious! Tasted just like my Polish Cabbage Rolls. So many people changed the recipe and it sounded good as is, so I pretty much made it as it's listed except cooked the onion with the beef (it didn't need oil), used a whole head of cabbage (I don't know how many pounds it was), used beef boullion instead of broth. I had only small 8 oz. cans of tomato sauce so used 4 but it was a little too much. Next time I'll use only 3. Also, I needed it cooked quicker than 1 1/2 hours so did as one reader suggested and cooked it on 400 degrees. It came out perfect, the rice and the cabbage! It doesn't need all the extra seasonings that so many were adding. Family loved it so I'll definitely be making again. Oh, and it made so much that I had to put it in a 11 x 15 pan. It's OK though, there's enough for dinner another night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I layered the ingredients like a lasagna. Cabbage, meat & rice, then cabbage with tomato sauce on top. I think next time I won't cook the meat first, just as an experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelica Speed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 947) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States