Cabbage, Potato, and Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Is missing something, I added (after doubling the recipe) 3 bay leaves and added dumplings. It tasted better the next day, but my boyfriend did not think it was all it could be. Cannot put our finger on it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by musik16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
This was fantastic! The only changes I made were to use 2 14oz cans of plain diced tomatoes (who wants to cut up whole canned tomatoes) and added 2 teaspoons of basil. For our taste, I'll probably cut back on the hot sauce to 1/2 teaspoon next time. But the soup was thick, really flavorful and super easy to make! Served with Mayonnaise Biscuits from this site and it was a meal. Thanks! UPDATE: 3/2014 I used the corned beef stock (strained) in place of some of the water. There was 2 1/2 cups stock. I sauteed the onion, celery and garlic until the onion was translucent and threw everything except the cabbage in the slow cooker on high for 6 hours. 1 1/2 hours before the done time, I added the cabbage. It was delicious and a nice way to use up the stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
So good, but did not stay true to the recipe (the only reason I gave it four stars). Added ground spicy pork when cooking the onions and other initial ingredients (that replaced the butter for browning) and also added two more cups of water and another tsp. of "better than bullion" flavoring. Also added noodles in at the last 10 minutes of simmering and sprinkled parmesan cheese on top. It was amazing. I must say that the leftovers were just as good, though it felt like more of a stew as it really thickened up. I think my additions really added a lot of flavor. I suspect the original recipe may have been fine but a little ho-hum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathertup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Too ketchupy flavored/tangy. Otherwise good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Excellent! I did substitute tomato sauce for the ketchup and used our homemade canned tomatoes from last summer. Will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gypsy Man

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Big Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Excellent soup. Will make again. Didn't have enough ketchup so topped off with salsa. Also used can of diced tomatoes instead of whole tomatoes with basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This was a refreshing, easy and very delicious recipe. I really liked the ketcup in it as it gave a creamy tomotoe soup flavor to it instead of tasting like an italian dish. I used plain canned diced tomatoes and instead of using italian seasoning I used my new favorite spice, Bouquet Garni (salt-free all purpose herb blend) which to me is much more sophisticated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
We followed the recipe exactly, this soup was awesome! I wouldnt change anything
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This is basically my departed MIL's recipe for "CPC soup", but she skipped the ketchup, added more potatoes, and most important, a couple of cups of shredded sharp cheddar cheese. The cheese is added at the end, stirred in until it melts, and served. A lovely soup, and pretty healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Great, tasty and easy soup. Had a half head of cabbage I needed to use and am I glad I found this recipe. I'm a believer in the theory that no amount of garlic is too much so I used 7 or 8 cloves and didn't have any Italian seasoning so I used Herbs De Provence instead and it was simply great. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States