Cabbage, Potato, and Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
A simple, hearty soup. I doubled the cooking time, however, as the potatoes were not quite where I wanted them. I substituted vegetable bouillon for the chicken without a problem, and also added a few mushrooms I had in the fridge. I imagine corn would be good in this, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Excellent recipe! I did alter it a little: I used Italian diced tomatoes; I used 4 cups of vegetable stock plus another 14.5 oz. can of water instead of the chicken bouillon, to make it vegetarian; I used a 6 oz. can of tomato paste instead of the ketchup; and I used a tsp. ground red pepper instead of the hot sauce. It was really good. It went very well with a side of crusty bread; you could probably add some orzo or elbow macaroni to it also and it'd be great. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medina, Texas, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This was really delicious and a great, great, great way to get super healthy cabbage onto the menu. I added more cabbage (because I'm a fan) and kept the tabasco sauce handy so people could add more if they wanted (which some did). I also used tomato puree instead of ketchup, one bullion cube instead of two, and more than doubled the Italian seasoning - but it still came out great!! Highly recommended!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Absolutely loved this soup! Just add a pound of ground beef to it so my husband would find it more appealing, he did love it as well. I actually doubled the amount of water and bouillon cubes as well so we could freeze some. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeraRae82

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Very very good! I turned it into a roast beef soup by making with sliced roast beef and au juice instead of chicken broth for something different, and added a touch of cayenne... Definitely will do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunlitme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
The ketchup really changes the taste. I added the ketchup last and tasted the soup before and after, and I greatly preferred the taste before. That said, my kids and husband loved this soup, and I think the ketchup made it for them. So, it just depends how much you like ketchup. I also objected to the 1/4 cup of butter because my goal in making soups is generally to make a healthy dish, but I must admit the butter was yummy. I doubled the hot sauce and no one thought it was too hot, including my 4-year old. (I used Cholula). This soup was a great way to get rid of cabbage and potatoes, and it was more substantial than I expected. I served it as a side but would probably serve it as a meal next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Huge hit with the entire family. Added some extra carrots and it made a very hearty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Is missing something, I added (after doubling the recipe) 3 bay leaves and added dumplings. It tasted better the next day, but my boyfriend did not think it was all it could be. Cannot put our finger on it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by musik16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
This was fantastic! The only changes I made were to use 2 14oz cans of plain diced tomatoes (who wants to cut up whole canned tomatoes) and added 2 teaspoons of basil. For our taste, I'll probably cut back on the hot sauce to 1/2 teaspoon next time. But the soup was thick, really flavorful and super easy to make! Served with Mayonnaise Biscuits from this site and it was a meal. Thanks! UPDATE: 3/2014 I used the corned beef stock (strained) in place of some of the water. There was 2 1/2 cups stock. I sauteed the onion, celery and garlic until the onion was translucent and threw everything except the cabbage in the slow cooker on high for 6 hours. 1 1/2 hours before the done time, I added the cabbage. It was delicious and a nice way to use up the stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
So good, but did not stay true to the recipe (the only reason I gave it four stars). Added ground spicy pork when cooking the onions and other initial ingredients (that replaced the butter for browning) and also added two more cups of water and another tsp. of "better than bullion" flavoring. Also added noodles in at the last 10 minutes of simmering and sprinkled parmesan cheese on top. It was amazing. I must say that the leftovers were just as good, though it felt like more of a stew as it really thickened up. I think my additions really added a lot of flavor. I suspect the original recipe may have been fine but a little ho-hum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathertup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States