Cabbage, Potato, and Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly as is. As far as I'm concerned it was just okay, nothing special, but the family absolutely loved it! So I guess I'll keep it in rotation for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Really good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Made the soup and added 1 cup more water , and only 1/4 head of cabbage as it was all I had. I will make again as my husband who is fussy liked it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda King

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Neepawa, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This is hands down the best soup recipe I have found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I thought it was a delicious and hardy soup. I made a few mild changes & bear in mind I halved the recipe: 1. tomato paste instead of ketchup 2. Used caraflax cabbage from the garden, one whole head but likely the equivalent of 1/2 a large head of cabbage from the store. 3. Closer to 4 potatos (smallish) again from the garden. I used yukon gold and fingerlings. It's what I had. 4. Topped with shredded cheddar...I LOVE cheese. 5. Onion powder-- onions are evil. 6. Upped tomatos to 20 oz (fresh romas & standard red) instead of 14 oz. The only other change I might make in the future is to use stock instead of bouillon cubes. Overall, I found this soup very filling but perhaps its because I upped the cabbage/potato quantities. Mine was much thicker than that pictured above. While you could add sausage to it, I see no reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
A simple, hearty soup. I doubled the cooking time, however, as the potatoes were not quite where I wanted them. I substituted vegetable bouillon for the chicken without a problem, and also added a few mushrooms I had in the fridge. I imagine corn would be good in this, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Excellent recipe! I did alter it a little: I used Italian diced tomatoes; I used 4 cups of vegetable stock plus another 14.5 oz. can of water instead of the chicken bouillon, to make it vegetarian; I used a 6 oz. can of tomato paste instead of the ketchup; and I used a tsp. ground red pepper instead of the hot sauce. It was really good. It went very well with a side of crusty bread; you could probably add some orzo or elbow macaroni to it also and it'd be great. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medina, Texas, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This was really delicious and a great, great, great way to get super healthy cabbage onto the menu. I added more cabbage (because I'm a fan) and kept the tabasco sauce handy so people could add more if they wanted (which some did). I also used tomato puree instead of ketchup, one bullion cube instead of two, and more than doubled the Italian seasoning - but it still came out great!! Highly recommended!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Absolutely loved this soup! Just add a pound of ground beef to it so my husband would find it more appealing, he did love it as well. I actually doubled the amount of water and bouillon cubes as well so we could freeze some. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tera Jelacic

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Very very good! I turned it into a roast beef soup by making with sliced roast beef and au juice instead of chicken broth for something different, and added a touch of cayenne... Definitely will do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunlitme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

World's Best Potato Soup

A delicious, chunky and creamy potato soup with bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States