Cabbage, Potato and Baked Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Given all the canned ingredients, I was hesitant to serve this to company at a dinner party. Although I was concerned it would be bland, this soup was suprisingly tasty and actually had quite a complex flavor. Nice winter soup. Guests all wanted the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Awesome. I oil and kosher salt the potatoes before baking. I make several extras and freeze them individually for future use
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This is a great recipe but I wanted a little more spice. I added one package of Lawry's spaghetti sauce powder. I also added 1 lb. of pork meat and 1 large can of diced tomatoes. I cooked it in the crock pot. Thank you for the recipe. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
made as written except added chopped carrots and only used one small potato. comfort food for sure. thanks for the post Ruth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Wonderful! Cooking times are off to get the taters done. Used one of the Bush Grillen Beans. Good Job! Can't wait to eat the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Chatsworth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
Quick, Easy, Cheap and Tasty. What more could one ask for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernie, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
yyuumm. this was the base of a wonderful meal.I added a tin of chopped tomatoes used an ordinary tin of baked beans,added some carrots,and garlic.And towards the end i added canned corned beef.I just threw it all in one pot and let it simmer away for about 30mins.It was a huge hit with the family will definateley make this again thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I wasn't in the mood for a super thick soup so I chose to thin it out. I simmered a very meaty ham bone in much more than 4 c water and eliminated the potatoes. I cooked it for about 2 hours. Then just dumped all the veggies (with the addition of carrots and corn for color) and simmered another 20 mins or so. Added the pork and beans when the veggies were tender. I tried a bowl without apple cider vinegar and it was good. Then I added a splash to another bowl as suggested by another reviewer. I liked the addition very much. I enjoyed it very much and I would like to make it just the same way. Great use of a cheapo can of pork and beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
This was really good with a few additions. I thought it needed a more tomato base and I had a 1/2 jar of leftover spaghetti sauce in the fridge so I added that, about 2 tbsp lemon vinegar, juice of 1/2 lemon, I also added 1 sliced carrot with the veggies at the beginning. I used vegetarian baked beans instead of pork and beans. I simmered the soup for about 2 hours and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melmelbook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calabasas, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Pretty good, but a little bland....I would try to add more of a tomato base to it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States