Cabbage, Potato and Baked Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2001
Well, I was surfing for cabbage recipes- cabbage is cheap and I am broke. I was skeptical about this recipe but had all the ingredients on hand so what the heck? I was surprised- this soup is rather quite yummy and rich tasting. And considering it cost about $2 to make well worth it. I will make it again. I would recommend using a low sodim broth, it came out a bit salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2002
I tried this recipe on a whim and it wasn't as bad as I thought it would be. My 12 year old ate 3 bowls (amazing for her!) and my husband said he enjoyed it. I doubt I will make this again, unless I use some variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
What a great soup for a winter meal. I cut up some leftover ham and added that to the pot too. I also had to add salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2003
This is ok - it is filling and tastes fine, but not spectacular. I made a lot and froze it, which will be convenient down the road. I like the affordability factor too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
This was a tasty soup, but I did not like the texture of the beans with the soup. Next time I make it I will just add tomato sauce instead of the can of beans. I skipped the direction of cooking the vegetables first and just added them to the broth. Also basal and garlic powder improved the taste of the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
I love cabbage in soup, so I enjoyed this recipe and found it very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
This is a great basic recipe, with lots of room for customization (different veggies, beans etc etc) My biggest problem with making it as written was that it was extremely unappetizing looking. If I were to make it again, I would add a bit of color with red potatoes with the skin on, carrots, bell pepper etc. But anyway, this is a great start for a healthy, easy and inexpensive meal. Thanks, Ruth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
This soup is definitely a keeper. Super easy to make, I threw it all in the pot together and let it simmer away. I love how it is low-cal and high-fiber too. Different and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
Quick, Easy, Cheap and Tasty. What more could one ask for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernie, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
Sorry - it was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States