Cabbage Patch Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
WOW, from the first time I tried this have gotten rave reviews from Family and Friends. Was so impressed after making first time, shared it with everyone I know! Have improvised with it a little at times, adding a little more Cabbage, as we love Cabbage, little more Salsa and garlic, also increased Celery to 3 or 4 stalks at times. Some recipes aren't open to improvising, but feel free with this one to add extra or something new of what your Family likes. Very "user friendly" recipe or great just like it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I cooked mine in the crock pot while I was at work, so it cooked for 9 hours which was a little too long, my cabbage basically disappeared. We still enjoyed it but next time will make when it won't have to cook as long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
It's in my recipe box! I only keep the ones I know I will fix again. What a great warmer upper on these cool Chicago evenings. Help me with one thing tho. What is the closest bean to "ranch style"? I've looked everywhere but no luck in my area. What would you suggest I substitute?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
We loved this! I used kidney beans instead of ranch-style beans which made this a lot like cabbage chili. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
We love this recipe. Have made it numerous times since finding it last year. It always turns out well even with substitutions. Great way to use up cabbage. I like this recipe so much better than a regular beef soup as it has a lot of flavor. We've also substituted sausage for the beef and that was great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
I have made this several times, and it has become one of our family favorites! Thank you for the great recipe. The only change I make is that I use a can of Rotel instead of picante - we like the taste of Rotel better. Everyone in my family, from my baby all the way up to my father, requests this dish. And so easy if you throw it all into the crockpot in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
Sooooo good! Cabbage came out sweet! I did it on the stovetop because I don't have a crockpot, used diced tomatoes with chilis and mixed it with rice. Was very spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2001
I added a can of cream style corn and a beef bouillon cube for flavoring as this came out fairly bland. On the whole, it was well-liked. Prepared the chopped vegetables the evening before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
I made this for my husband and he loved it. He said when I first told him what was in this stew he didn't think it sounded to good. He later told me he sure was glad he didn't go with his inital thoughts of this stew. He loved it and has already put in as request for it again this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2001
My mom used to make this growing up, but with leftover chili. It was chili one night and cabbage patch stew the next...but we started just making the stew because we liked it BETTER than chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States