Cabbage Patch Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I made some revisions to this dish, but it was really good. I used ground turkey and a can of rotel tomatoes instead of the picante sauce called for in the recipe. I also used more like a 1/2 teaspoon of cumin and i also added a couple of chicken broth bouillon cubes and I have to tell you - this was an incredibly delicious, low fat meal. I had no complaints! If you're a weight watchers person, this works out to about 1 point per ladle full. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I thought it might be bland with no broth, so I added some beef broth in place of the water, and left out the cumin and the beans. Added a pinch of marjoram and also added some rice to it. It turned out okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I didn't have ranch style beans, green pepper or celery, so I used white kidney beans and yellow pepper. The only thing is that it was quite spicy, I'm not sure if the picante I used was different but a 1/4 seems like a lot. I still liked it but my dad couldn't eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felicity

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I love this recipe and have made it many times now! I used black beans instead of ranch and added a 1/2 lb of spicy ground pork with my ground beef; simmered the onion and celery into my meat. Substited carrot for the bell pepper. IMO You really don't need to simmer this all day!... I simmer about an hour until veggies are done. Taste even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Very good. It needed extra seasoning for my taste, I added 1/2 bunch of fresh cilantro and 1/2 bunch fresh parsley which I think really made the dish! I needed to add extra salt, pepper, cumin, garlic powder, and onion powder to taste. I didn't have a problem finding the Ranch Style Beans but I think chili beans would be a good replacement in this dish if you can't find Ranch Style Beans. This dish is very versatile and you could almost add any veggi or spice you have on hand. Husband loved it and recommended we add chorizo next time..will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Good, I have no idea what "ranch style" beans are as they do not sell them here as far as I know but the internet equated them to pinto beans so that is what I used. (in tomato sauce). Good way to utilize veggies and not too spicy, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Good. I liked it with a little Tabasco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Farmington, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
My family just loves this stew. Instead of Picante sauce, I use Rotell tomatoes & chile's in the original flavor and a can of diced tomatoes, and I use the coleslaw cabbage in a bag for quick fixing. I also add 1 can of diced green chile's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Twentynine Palms, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I thought this was pretty good! I cooked a couple of tablespoons of minced garlic with the beef and onion and then seasoned the meat with Creole Seasoning. I left out the celery and green pepper (because I don't like them) and added a can of corn. I also doubled the cabbage and it definitely looks like I'll get more than four servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States