Cabbage Patch Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Loved this stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Great recipie. Yet what I did was instead of ground beef I used Italian sausage. I didn't use beans because I didn't have any, nor picant sauce since the sausage was spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Ranch-style is a brand of pinto bean. It has a spicy and thick sauce. I don't know a good sub. for it but hope that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Yummy and forgiving! It's not really a cabbage stew, because of all the meat and beans, but that means it's an easy way to get veggies in without noticing! I doubled the cabbage and still didn't notice it (which I think is a good thing, cabbage is not my favorite).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
This was a lovely stew/soup...or as Rachal Ray would call it, a Stoup. The only changes I made were to substitute beef broth for the water (I added about 2 cups because it was a bit light on liquid) then added about 1 1/2 tsp. chili powder and about 1 Tblsp. of chopped, pickled jalapenos, just to give it a big 'bam'. I also had one 6 inch chorizo sausage leftover from breakfast that I added...chopped it into small pieces similar to the ground beef. I had the Ranch Style beans on hand (visited Texas this winter) which have a strong chili flavor in the sauce...(love those beans!) and they really added to the overall flavor of the Stoup. This was really what I would call a vegetable chili with gr. beef. My husband was skeptical until he walked into the kitchen and the aromas overcame him...he gave it a 2 thumbs up...and he's pretty picky when it comes to new recipes. Will make this again when I have cabbage that I have to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Didn't have enough time for the crock pot method so I made this on the stove and tripled the water to make up for it. I ended up tripling the cumin also. I browned the meat and veggies (reserving the cabbage) first, then added the liquids and brought to a boil, reduced to low and simmered 30 mins, added the cabbage and simmered another 20 mins or so. I think this would have been better with some additional spices. Great w/homemade cheddar and onion bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This was great! Even my boyfriend liked it and he is not a fan of soups or stews! It has a great flavor and the cabbage is tender and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Tamale

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beckley, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
This was delicious!! I made one addition. I threw in some small diced potatoes. I also used a Texas style Medium salsa. This added a little spice. We loved it. And it was even better the next day as left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I used ground turkey instead of beef. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Great way to use cabbage! I just used half of a head and eliminated the celery. Very tasty and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States