Cabbage Patch Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This is a good soup recipe. I cooked it on the stove top since I didn't get time to put it in the crockpot earlier in the day. I added quite a bit more cumin to give it more flavor (and we love cumin!), but other than that followed the recipe as written. Will try in the crockpot next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wildwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I didn't think I would like this inittially, but I needed to use up some of my cabbage. So very very glad that I did. I didn't have any ranch style beans or cumin, so i substituted it with pinto beans and about 1Tbsp of taco seasoning. Still came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Loved this dish the first time and the second day for leftovers. I couldn't find the beans called for here in Canada so used PC Southwest style beans. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
The recipe is extremely hardy and flavorful. I must admit at first I wasn't sure how all the ingredients would blend together, boy did they come together fantastic. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Although it was edible, It wasn't great. I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This stew only ended up being good after alot of doctoring, which made it awesome, but by itself it was too blan. It needs way more seasoning. I put in alot more cumin, added lawry's seasoning salt, salt and pepper, and for a little heat I added cayenne and red pepper flakes. My sister in law said " I could eat this every day". I did all the seasonings to taste and did not measure andy of them. I made this a second time and added chili powder, paprika and a bay leaf and 2 beef boullion cubes and used 1/4 cup of jacks special garden fresh gourmet salsa. I also added 3 cans of corn and 2 cans of green beans and a whole chopped tomato. Oh yeah and a little extra onion powder. It was AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuperMom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
This soup is delish..! I used what was left of a cabbage that i made cabbage rolls with and had everything else on hand except the tomatoes and I must say wow i will be making this again. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Allen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
AWESOME! Substituted ground turkey for the ground beef, added an addt'l 1/4 c. picante sauce and added 1 c. fat free, reduced sodium chicken broth (still added the water called for in recipe) & I did not add salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nfargo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I let this go 8 hours, a little to long.... It was very low on liquid so I added 2 cups of water and a cube of beef base, it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Faust

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
It was good, but not impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States