Cabbage Patch Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Awesome stew. I LOVE cabbage. I used a whole head of cabbage and also tossed in a few russet potatoes and a can of beef broth and it turned out AMAZING! Very hearty and delicious. After finishing the first batch off I went out and bought ingredients for the next batch which I am currently cooking! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Yum. My boyfriend eats a lot, so I tripled the recipe. I added more cabbage, more picante sauce, and a few splashes of Worcestershire sauce. Since I couldn't fit all ingredients in my 6-quart crockpot, I simmered on the stove for a few hours and it was cooked through by then. I'm not sure if you can freeze this kind of soup or not...I think the cabbage might disintegrate. We'll probably eat it all up soon anyway. Thanks for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Felts Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sardinia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I made this on the stove top because I broke my crockpot. This soup has a great taste and is very filling. I will try it in a crockpot next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Yum! Had for dinner over mashed potatoes, everyone enjoyed. Used more cabbage and picante sauce. Was not sure what ranch style beans were, used vegetarian baked beans. Wanted to use kidney beans but didn't have any. Will make this again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This is very good even if you don't use a slow cooker! I used a can of chicken broth and 1/4 cup catsup as well. Great on a cold winter day, with a fire in the fireplace!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Excellent! I followed the recipe except I didn't add the Picante for my spice-sensitive 5-year old who loved the stew! It's delicious but I will definitely add more cabbage next time. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
The only thing I did different was thicken it up in the end (too soupy). Me and my husband really liked the flaver; it tastes like chili, except better. Next time I will add less meat and more cabbage. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
The only two things I changed were instead of 1 cup of water I used 2 cups of chicken broth ff, as I do with all soup/stews I make that call for water. Also, for some reason there were no green bell peppers at the store, so that was omitted. I also added extra cabbage and celery. The whole family really loved this stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Richland Hills, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I rather enjoyed this. My family thought it was ok. but i thought it tasted good and it was mostly healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Delicious! I followed the recipe exactly. I even managed to find ranch-style beans in Iowa--they were hiding at Wal-Mart all along. I also used a bag of angel hair cabbage in lieu of buying a head of cabbage and chopping it myself. Same price, less work. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States