Cabbage Patch Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
Very Good, and my husband thought so too! I added extra picante sauce, and then about an hour before it was done, stirred in one can of regular corn and served over brown rice. I used the extra cabbage to make cole slaw. I found that with the hotter cooking temperatures of the newer crockpots, 5 hours on "Low" was more than sufficient cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Smelled so good I barely made it through the cooking time. I cheated and had a bowl half-way through when the cabbage and bell pepper was still crunchy. =) Mmm serve it with bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
WOW, from the first time I tried this have gotten rave reviews from Family and Friends. Was so impressed after making first time, shared it with everyone I know! Have improvised with it a little at times, adding a little more Cabbage, as we love Cabbage, little more Salsa and garlic, also increased Celery to 3 or 4 stalks at times. Some recipes aren't open to improvising, but feel free with this one to add extra or something new of what your Family likes. Very "user friendly" recipe or great just like it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
Very tasty! A nice, nutritious meal to have ready on a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
I liked this a lot. It was my first Allrecipe recipe and I liked it so much I kept searching for more recipes. :) I'll definitely make it again, probably adding more cabbage to thicken it up a bit. It's yummy with cornbread muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
This is a hearty "stick to your ribs" dish. I use salsa instead of picante sauce, and vary the type of salsa to the taste of the people eating it. I also recommend Ancho Chiles instead of green bell pepper if you like it spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
I added a can of corn & even my 5 year old daughter who hates cabbage gobbled this down!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2002
This looked like an interesting combination of flavours. Boy, were we disappointed! It tastes like a mix of leftovers.. nothing interesting about it. Won't ever make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
I thought this was excellent! I added a little bit more picante sauce and a diced jalepeno pepper for a little bit more zest! Put some cheese on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2001
I really improvised with this recipe. I don't have a crock pot, so I did it on the stove. It cooked in about 30 min. I added some red pepper for color and when I served it I put cheese on top for the kids. They love anything with cheese. It was really good!! I will be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States