Cabbage Patch Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
This was very bland but the green pepper was overwhelming. Next time I would put in 2 Tablespoons Green pepper if at all. I ended up adding another can of beans, more picante sauce and a can of corn. Served it over brown rice and sprinkled on shredded cheese. Of course this made way too much for the two of us so we'll have it for dinner another night this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
I've made this recipe a few times without the beans to lower the carb count since two members of my family are doing the Atkins diet. I've added other vegetables such as mushrooms to take the place of beans but without the high carbs. Both love this dish and I cook it 3 to 4 times a month. Very economical too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
This was edible. However, we all found the cabbage a little crispy and the cabbage flavor overwhelmed the flavor of the stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
This recipe is easy to prepare and very delicious. My husband-who hate cabbage-raves about this dish. I served it over rice. We've added this to our list of comfort foods. Will definitely make again and again!! Thanks for sharing Betsy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steelton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
Very good! A pleasant change. Was a bit disappointed, as I love Cabbage, and I couldn’t really taste it in the stew. After serving, we topped it off with some shredded cheddar cheese. Was really satisfying, and a good belly warmer on cold days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2003
A "decent" dinner. It was SOOO thick that I ended up adding 1 can of tomato sauce - which worked much better and brought this dish from being practically a casserole in my crockpot to a stew/chili consistency. I was expecting some spice and pizzaz but found it lacking. We liked it but I have found some other similar recipes that I prefer over this. Thanks anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
Very good dish - Easy and tasty. I used 2 cans of the Ranch beans with jalapenos, and followed the recipe exactly. We ate this "chili" with grated cheese and flour tortillas. Adding it to my regulars-Thanks Betsy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
Very good and very easy to make. Tastes just like chili! The kids loved it and didn't even notice the cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
This was ok! I cooked it on the stove for a few hours instead of the crock pot. Husband didn't like it too much either. This is way too much food for 2 people. We'll never eat all the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
We loved this! I used kidney beans instead of ranch-style beans which made this a lot like cabbage chili. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States