Cabbage Patch Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I made the stew and served it to my family , Everyone in the family loved it My mom called for the recipe,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Black

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Great recipe which I use as a base. I make it using 2 lbs fried sausage, 2 cans black beans, 1 head of cabbage, 2 green peppers, 1 large red onion, 2 cans stewed tomatoes, 1 jar of medium picante, and I add the cumin, garlic, salt and pepper as required. I omit the celery. I put all this in the crockpot for 6 hours on low. My crockpot will go to warm after the required time. This is a very hearty stew. Perfect for a cold day. Serve with bread or corn chips on top. This is a family favorite at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gary, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Warrensburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
My husband loves this stew. I made it for the first time tonight and I like it but wasn't sure I'd make it again until he gave it rave reviews. I did this on high in the slow cooker for about 90 minutes. I tasted it several times as it was cooking and added another 1/4 cup of hot picante sauce and a beef bouillon cube. Instead of water I used some chicken stock because it was already opened in the frig. Still, I wanted a bit more zip to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
A family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Sorry, but I tried this recipe exactly as written, with all the ingredients and no changes. Horribly disappointed... was craving a nice hearty cabbage dish, but this was totally and completely bland and flavorless. Took a ton of doctoring up to make it edible. I found a recipe for cabbage rolls which gave me the necessary ingredients to help bring this up to something I could salvage. Don't recommend as written, and I hate giving one-star reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
I like to make a bisquick dumpling with cheese to cook on top for the last 20 minutes. (how my Mom made it when I was growing up) 10 minutes covered after dropping dumplings and 10 minutes with out cover. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherida Myers DeWitt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Osage City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Tried it loved it, easy, healthy, and tasty. Hubby gave it a big thumbs up. Putting this one on the Yes, do repeat list. Made ours with black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Even my two picky teenagers loved this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miriam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
All 5 of my children loved this stew. It was super easy to make. I made it exactly as written except I didn't use celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
The first time I made this, it was without meat, my husband actually liked it and requested it again but with me. So I've made this recipe about 5 times now and my husband loves it. My changes: No water, 2 cans of tomatoes with liquid (one diced), I soak my own red beans instead of ranch style (it doesnt make a difference), and I use ground turkey for a leaner meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States