Cabbage Patch Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Great recipe which I use as a base. I make it using 2 lbs fried sausage, 2 cans black beans, 1 head of cabbage, 2 green peppers, 1 large red onion, 2 cans stewed tomatoes, 1 jar of medium picante, and I add the cumin, garlic, salt and pepper as required. I omit the celery. I put all this in the crockpot for 6 hours on low. My crockpot will go to warm after the required time. This is a very hearty stew. Perfect for a cold day. Serve with bread or corn chips on top. This is a family favorite at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gary, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Warrensburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
My husband loves this stew. I made it for the first time tonight and I like it but wasn't sure I'd make it again until he gave it rave reviews. I did this on high in the slow cooker for about 90 minutes. I tasted it several times as it was cooking and added another 1/4 cup of hot picante sauce and a beef bouillon cube. Instead of water I used some chicken stock because it was already opened in the frig. Still, I wanted a bit more zip to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
A family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Sorry, but I tried this recipe exactly as written, with all the ingredients and no changes. Horribly disappointed... was craving a nice hearty cabbage dish, but this was totally and completely bland and flavorless. Took a ton of doctoring up to make it edible. I found a recipe for cabbage rolls which gave me the necessary ingredients to help bring this up to something I could salvage. Don't recommend as written, and I hate giving one-star reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
I like to make a bisquick dumpling with cheese to cook on top for the last 20 minutes. (how my Mom made it when I was growing up) 10 minutes covered after dropping dumplings and 10 minutes with out cover. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherida6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Osage City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Tried it loved it, easy, healthy, and tasty. Hubby gave it a big thumbs up. Putting this one on the Yes, do repeat list. Made ours with black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Even my two picky teenagers loved this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miriam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
All 5 of my children loved this stew. It was super easy to make. I made it exactly as written except I didn't use celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
The first time I made this, it was without meat, my husband actually liked it and requested it again but with me. So I've made this recipe about 5 times now and my husband loves it. My changes: No water, 2 cans of tomatoes with liquid (one diced), I soak my own red beans instead of ranch style (it doesnt make a difference), and I use ground turkey for a leaner meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
This is good, made as directed with a heavy hand measuring the picante as well as cumin. Tasted like Mexican cabbage soup, which was good, just not anything we went too crazy for. Good way to use cabbage up, simple ingredients, would make again for the above mentioned reasons but not likely something we will have a craving for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States