Cabbage on the Grill Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
This was the same as my steamed cabbage, minus the butter. I use bacon grease for the flavor. The butter was good and I cut the cooking time down due to I like the crisp in the cabbage. Overall It is a good easy and quick recipe that I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
very good. I grilled the cabbage with canola cooking spray, salt and pepper. I had a small cabbage and only cut into quarters. It took a very long time to cook, next time I will cut into 8 wedges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I've been making a similar recipe for years. I have a few tricks to save time and add flavor. I microwave the cabbage wedges for 5 minutes prior to placing in foil. This saves about half of the grill time. I wrap each cabbage wedge with a slice of bacon (turkey bacon works great). I place a teaspoon of margarine on each wedge and sprinkle with Garlic seasoning such as Mrs. Dash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHAFFERSS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
This is really good. I drizzle the cabbage with a little balsamic vinegar and either olive oil or a few pats of butter. I've also tucked thin slices of garlic among the wedges. This dish was one of the first to be eaten up at a recent potluck - what an ego boost for the lowly cabbage! It did make our neighbours' surly teenagers yell over the fence at us: "Your BBQ f***in' stinks!", so take heed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
My husband and I have been making this for years. We have since added a few ingredients like bacon and jalapeno peppers. The peppers cook up and is not really all that hot. It is always a hit at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lenoir City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
I followed the advice of others and added a little butter and fresh garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
this is one of our favorites, but we add a few mushrooms (from a can), butter and seasoned salt! YUMMY!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
I just wasn't impressed at all to be honest. It didn't really capture any of the "grill" flavor. Honestly, I would just save yourself the hassle and microwave it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
Being on a low fat diet and loving the taste of fried cabbage, I wanted to give this a whirl. I threw in some onions and seasoned with minced garlic, cracked pepper and spray butter. I loved it. It "almost" tasted like the real thing. When I am dieting, I am always looking for ways to make the food I can eat taste better. This is one I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
It was okay. I did not care for the garlic powder, I think it would have tasted better with fresh garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjhutch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clovis, California, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States