Cabbage Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
My husband and I loved it. A very hearty meal. I added more spices, okra, and doubled the water. We will definitely be eating this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2003
YUM! This is the best Jambalayah recipe I've found! My hubby loved it. I did make a few probably unorthodox changes, I was trying to figure out something to do with the "spiced cabbage water" that was left over after having cooked a corned beef a few nights earlier, since my hubby won't eat cabbage by itself. I used this as the base for the Jambalayah, and it came out WOW! I also used Italian Sausage instead of smoked, gave it a little extra kick, and added a bit more spices to perk it up a bit, I also left out the celery and added green peppers. I am definately going to try this one again. (Maybe after next time I do corned beef!) LOL...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
To anyone who has reservations about trying this recipe: If you like spicy, esp. jambalaya, or rice based recipes - this is truly a great way to combine the beloved with something as mundane as cabbage, voila! This is the umpteenth time I've made this...I was one of the first to review it in '04. Like other reviewers, I've modified this recipe to give it some umph! I use rotel, hot sm. sausage, Creole or Old Bay seasonings...I even throw in a can of black-eyed peas. Cornbread and Iced Tea to boot! Gotta Love it! Yeah, I'm a Texas Girl...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Azle, Texas, USA
Living In: Stephenville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
I thought this recipe was great. My husband loved it and he is not necessarily crazy about cabbage. I did what the other reviewers suggested and used broth instead of water. I also added the red peppers and creole seasoning. You can also play around with the different kinds of sausage. The first time I mad this with the smoked sausage and then the second time I made it, I used Kielbasa. It is also great if you add some hot sauce to it. I love mine spicey and serve this with sweet maple cornbread. They go great together!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
this was beyond good!...even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
Hey Susan, my girls thought this dish was delicious and they gave it four stars, however, my hubby absolutely flipped over it and said, Oh man, definitely five stars"! I did tweak it a bit to suit our tastes. Normally I would brown my meat first so I can drain the fat, but the recipe called for browning the meat along with the vegies, and no draining was mentioned. I did do that but then put everything in a colander to get rid of the fat. I added a green pepper, used red onion and in addition to the tomatos I used about half of a large can of tomato sauce. I also seasoned with garlic and onion powders, cayenne pepper and "Essence". Hubby is home alone every Wednesday night (poor guy. yeah, right) and was not only thrilled with his dinner but also with the "Crunch Drop" cookies I made this afternoon. (also on this site) I rarely see him eat desserts but he polished off quite a few! I'm always looking for different ways to use cabbage, as it's such a nutritious veggie and this was truly great. Thanks Susan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2001
I love it. It was a great cooking experience. If you like to cook this is the one for you. Easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
Family of 6 loved it!! Yummm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
Very very good! It was easy to make(i cut my finger cutting the cabbage though :( ). I added some cayenne and a red pepper to give it more appeal. Instead of the canned tomatoes, I added two real tomatoes and a little can of tomatoe sauce. I also omitted the celery. Everyone liked it alot, and all took seconds. Definately a recipe to keep!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
My fiance was a little skeptical when I told him what I was cooking (he explained what REAL Jambalaya was). Well, when it was done he didn't have much to say because he was too busy stuffing his mouth! I loved it, my kids loved it. A terrific,hearty meal. Will serve again and again. THANKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States