Cabbage Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
My family loved this dish. Especially my picky 3 yr. old. I made the following changes: instead of using ground beef, I used ground turkey and 1 lb. of turkey sausage. I added one diced red pepper and in place of the stewed tomatoes I used one can of cream of mushroom soup. The last thing I did was to use chicken stock in place of water for more flavor. It came out delicious and my family asked that I put this in my favorite recipes book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I think this was an excellent and quick recipe! I did season to our taste with Season-All and a little Splenda. Otherwise, I did everything as is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RiceLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Great Recipe! I fixed it for a work pot luck and it was gone in no time! Next time I will add black beans, more garlic and celery (just did not have at the time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
This recipe came up as I searched using ingredients I had to use up. It looked good, but I really think it needed more flavors for my tastes so I added a bunch of stuff. I added black-eyed peas, used beef broth instead of water. Added green pepper, oregano, thyme, bay leaves, red pepper flakes (then Tabasco at the end!). The rice I used was Bhutanesca red and the tomatoes where a can of fire-roasted. The cabbage was red. I'd give the recipe with my changes 4 stars. Interesting and novel recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
A great recipe that is easy to make. I reduced the suggested amount of water and added a can of tomato sauce that was seasoned with basil, garlic and oregano. Add a splash of Louisiana hot sauce and you will have yourself a great meal. Will definitely make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Awesome! So good! We loved it! Huge hit at our house. I did brown the ground beef seperately so I could drain it. And I cooked the rice in my rice cooker but everything else was the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlondeJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winfield, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Surprisingly good! I used a can of diced tomatoes and about 2 cups tomato sauce instead of the stewed tomatoes and added 2.5 t. of creole seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sauk Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Recipe was good, but I thought it would need more and agreed with other reviews that it's not Jambalaya without any Creole or Cajun seasoning. I didn't have stewed tomatoes, so I used 1 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes, which also had roasted garlic in it. Since I did not have any ground beef, I used ground turkey. I am not sure how much creole seasoning I used, but I evenly sprinkled it over the meat, onion, and celery. I did the same over the diced tomatoes, cabbage, and rice. I used 1 c. white rice and 1.5 cups water. Personally, I thought this dish looked more like it was going to be soupy. I removed it from the heat after 25 min, uncovered the pot and let it stand about 5-10 minutes. The liquid absorbed, but it still seemed mushy to me. Next time I will cook the rice separate and add it to the pot towards the end of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Good when fresh, but doesn't reheat very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
On of my favorite recipes that I have found on this site. Delicious! I made it to recipe with ground turkey/turkey sausage the first time, now I like to add 2 teaspoons of cajun seasoning to it and instead of celery I put in one green and one red bell pepper. I also like to use low sodium chicken broth instead of water. It is a great recipe the way it's listed, I just changed things to cater more to a flavor I enjoy more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States