Cabbage Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
This was super easy to make and t was very tasty. I made a batch of it and was able to reheat it for a few days for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LW

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Great recipe! The family LOVED the dish. I used ground turkey instead of ground beef. I didn't have celery on-hand so used celery seed instead. Also, I took the advice of one of the reviewers and added some tomato sauce (about 6 oz.). I would have preferred to use beef stock, but I only had chicken, so that's what I supplemented for the water - I used 26 oz and about 85% of it boiled off while simmering. Be careful not to overcook the rice! All-in-all, this dish was very simple and delicious... it has been saved to make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
I was surprised at how good this tasted! I did make a few revisions to the recipe tho. In addition to the can of stewed tomatoes, I added a small can of tomato sauce, pepper and creole seasoning while rice was cooking. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South San Francisco, California, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This was delicious and everyone loved it. Made as directed but could easily be made to suit different taste. Next time I make this it won't be for a crowd and I plan to spice it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Using andouille sausage in place of smoked sausage, and beef broth in place of water, plus adding a teaspoon of Cajun seasoning blend (I used Penzey's) makes this excellent. I also added some chopped poblano and chili peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
We loved it! I made it as is other than just a few changes to spices based on personal tastes. My kids LOVED it- ages 12, 3, and 1. They all gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cecilia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I can't give it 5 stars because I made too many changes, but it is a good starter recipe. Based on other reviews, I used only a 1/2 pound each of the ground beef and sausage (which I subbed with vegetarian versions). I also added almost double the water it called for, and a half portion of the Cajun Spice Mix recipe from this site (by Bobbie Jean). Those changes made my wife say that it was the BEST cabbage dish she had ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THATISSO8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
A complete disaster!!! I followed the instructions and it did not come out right...sorry...next time I will just cook the rice separate and put the cabbage over rice...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This was fantastic. My 2 1/2 and 4 year old picky eaters actually ate their entire bowls. I made a few changes though based mostly on other reviewers... I substituted 2 cups of beef broth for the water. I added an entire can of tomato sauce, I used a red onion instead of a regular onion, I added a chopped green pepper. Since I added more liquid, I also put in 1 1/2 cups of rice instead of just the one. Extra seasonings included oregano, emeril essence, garlic salt, pepper... I added cayenne pepper after I took out the kids' portions! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Not my favorite thing I think it is a bit too oily/greasy. So if I was to make it again i would drain the fat or I would get a less fattier meat like ground turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States