Cabbage Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
this looks so plain in the recipe but it is crazy good! THe only subs were I doubled the rice and liquid and subbed turkey for the beef. SO, SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
I live in the heart of Cajun Country. When I saw this recipe, I doubted it would come close to any true Cajun versions. However, I decided to try it. I followed the directions exactly. I was not disappointed. I was STUNNED! I showed the finished product to my son. However, we tried tried it. We did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
I made this for Super Bowl Sunday and it was absolutely delicious (with my additions): Added a box of Zatarain's Jambalaya mix for the flavor and added a dash or two of worcetershire sauce to the ground beef as it was browning. Also added a red and yellow bell pepper and chicken stock instead of water. Seasoned with hot sauce and Creole seasoning at the end for some spice! Everyone ate so much of this soup - it was hearty and warming and VERY TASTY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
Wow, Now THAT is good stuff...so unexpected! I substituted ground turkey for beef and used chicken broth instead of water. I browned the turkey along with the celery and onions and such and drained them, then pretty much followed the rest of the recipe. At the end I used Creole seasoning to bring to my taste. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TCmofo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
I made a healthier version of this by using ground chicken instead of meat, brown rice instead of white and omitting the sausage. We still found the combination of flavors really good. I jazzed it up with seasoned salt and Old Bay seasoning. Ten stars for ease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I was pleasantly surprised by the recipe; I took some of the suggestions of others and used chicken broth instead of water, omitted the celery, used Rotel instead of the stewed tomato, and used lean ground beef and turkey italian sausage. I also cooked my rice seperately and used a long-grain wild rice, pilaf style mix with added diced veggies because I was worried about the "blandness" that others had mentioned. In hindsight, plain rice would have been fine. Next time I'll add two cans of Rotel instead of one, and use plain white rice. Overall, very pleased and will be making again soon. I served with blackeyed peas, Mexican cornbread and potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
WOW, this recipe was a SUPER winner in my house! The man, and the boy loved it! Added some creole seasoning and used spicy sausage, cuz we love spicy! Just great, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I had my doubts, but this was really good. We used Andouille sausage, and the spice of the meat made any extra spices completely unnecessary. I was concerned when I added the cabbage, because it took up a LOT of room in the pot, but after a few minutes, it boiled down to a reasonable size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
The reason I'm giving this 4 stars is b/c my grandchildren liked it. It wasn't that it was "bad", I don't particularly like my cabbage so mushy. The directions don't say to ever stir it but I felt it needed it about 1/2 way through the cooking. I also added some "Tony's" cajun seasoning and I think that enhanced the flavor. I think I'll stick to my cabbage/smoked sausage recipe. This was a little too much work for the end result. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Used this recipe with leftover cabbage (from corned beef and cabbage) sausage and meatballs from spaghetti meal yesterday, and a little chicken left over from a roast. OMG!!!! this was great with the rice, tomatoes, and other ingredients. Thanks for another quick easy delicious way to fix cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States