Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe & truly does jump-start your healthy eating goals & help lower fat & cholesterol. It freezes great & tastes as good or better left over. I do keep the major components the same as they are designed to work to burn fat but I typically clean out my vegetable drawer & add whatever vegetables I have (in addition to what's listed here). I have added asparagus, squash, green onions, saurkrait, etc. I also use V-8 in place of tomato juice for the additional vitamins & spices. I sometimes will add a finely diced serrano or jalapeno pepper as I like spice (or use half spicy V-8 & half regular). This is a terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
actually really yummy but makes way too much. would probably cut recipe in half or quarter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
This is addictive! Added mushrooms, then inspired by pho, to my bowl of soup, I added fresh basil, fresh mint, bean sprouts, 1/4 fresh lime and sriracha sauce. This will definitely become a staple in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Victoria68
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
The purpose of cabbage soup is, along with being low cal, is to rid the body of retained water. Tomato juice can have a really high sodium content so I'm using everything "Low sodium". We just moved to FL and I'm feeling incredibly puffy...humidity maybe...so I opted out of the dry onion soup mix altogether due to the saltiness. Hopefully after a few days of this I'll feel less puffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Made this the other day as is except for the beans, but that was because I just forgot. It came out great, and as I consumed it over the week, I would add hot sauce and whatever spices I felt like to have a little something different from day to day. I'm making a second huge pot of it now, purposely left out the beans, doubled the cabbage with a head of red, added 5 jalapenpos, and it's cooking right now and smells great. I also added 1 tbs each of coriander and cumin, 1 tsp each tumeric and ground black pepper. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Meh... the best I can say is - it wasn't terrible. It made enough for an army!! I ended up giving a couple of huge portions to family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cln714
Home Town: Woodridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Omg its sssooo good (and filling!!!) I did not make this soup for dieting purposes but I do love cabbage and the low cal, healty meal is certainly appealing! I made this tonight for my boys, and they loved it (even my picky eater gave it an 8.9 - typically reserved only for his favorite lasagna!) The only thing I changed: I added 1 15oz can sweet corn, and 1 15 oz can garbanzo beans - which totally 'made' it for us. Will definitely make again! Thanks so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
This is a good soup. I did add a custom version with more carrots and other minor changes to the veggies/quantities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I left out two things when I made this soup: the green peppers because my family doesn't like them, and the beef broth because the cabbage releases it's own water as it's cooking and I didn't want the soup to have a lot of liquid. This soup still turned out delicious! My meat-and-potato-loving family loved this vegetarian soup! The second day I pureed the rest and it tasted even better! This soup isn't just for dieters. I will definitely make again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
No one in my family liked this. The tomatoe juice is too overpowering, maybe if I added ground beef it would be better??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 541) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States