Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I think I can eat this everyday for lunch! I put a couple shakes of curry powder! Wow, its really good.... I hope it burns the fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
What caught my eye was the weight loss angle (just those few pds left over from holidays) but this soup actually tastes very good! Surprising good and I am not a cabbage or,tomato juice fan. I half recipe and froze a few bags. What was really incredible is how filling the soup is. I had a small sample bowl to check salt/spice level and I was barely ready to eat dinner a few hours later. Tis would be great on a short weight loss effort...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
This was fantastic! I made just a couple of small alterations: don't care for tomatoes or celery, so I substituted some mushrooms - which were GREAT - and added some of my own spices for some flavor. I also used a little bit of the V-8 hot&spicy vegetable juice, which added a nice "kick". This soup worked great to drop some lbs fast! I ate it almost every day for lunch, along with a slice of margarine bread, for the 2 weeks leading up to a wedding that I was in. And the lbs STAYED off! It's the most effective diet I've ever tried. Also, it freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
I spray my frying pan with cooking spray and saute my celery, onion and cabbage (sometimes the carrots too) first, to get that roasted flavor a bit first. I suppose you could also roast them in the oven on a baking sheet sprayed with cooking spray too. It just adds a bit different flavor to the soup. I also use V8 instead of tomato juice, and I omit the tomatoes because I do not care for them. I also don't use the packet of onion soup mix, because there is already sodium in the V8 and the beef broth. Using low sodium products would be much better, however the soup isn't as tasty without all the sodium so you do need to try and spice it up some with extra herbs. But all in all, a great soup base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I have been eating this soup for lunch and dinner about a week and have lost three pounds already! I only need to lose 20 pounds. so this is a great start! I had tried a similar soup back in the 80's, but this one actually tastes much better! If you are the only one eating this, I would recommend halving the ingredients because it makes a HUGE pot otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
What a fantastic recipe. I put cod in it the first day, sole on the second day and halibut on the third day, and salmon on the fourth day. On the fifth day I go back to day one and so on. It tastes wonderful. Instead of green bean I use spinach. I have lost 22 pounds in two weeks and feel great. My blood glucose is now normal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Good stuff, excellent filler... but be careful....holy gas batman... my husband wanted me to go see a doctor. Funny as heck to me, not so funny to him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Very good....however, I added 3 bay leaves a lil bit of kosher salt and 4 cut up dried chili peppers. It needed a lil kick. I suggest you get a "soup" pot because the largest pot I had was overflowing! I also used 1/2 red cabbage 1/2 green to mix it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mamagillett
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I didn't make any changes to the recipe, but did let it cook for much longer than 25 minutes. It was delicious but I felt it needed some salt and my husband said he will be adding some hot sauce on his next bowl! It definitely makes a LOT of soup, so there's plenty for freezing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamagillett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This is a great recipe! My mom used to make this when I was younger. Finally found a version that is so close! Thank you for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAG16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beech Grove, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 559) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States