Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
How I've tweeked it: instead of using plain tomato juice I use a spicy V-8 and whatever other FRESH vegetables I have. Also, the addition of barley and ground beef. If you use the recipe as written hunger is likely to strike, thus eating more soup! Simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
A tiny bit bland, spice to your taste but great recipe just needs a little pinch of spice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
It was bland and the veggies all mushed together into one boring color. I added some zucchinis and left out the celery as I don't like it. Made a ton, I filled my crockpot and a stockpot all the way full. Froze a bunch of it and have the whole crockpot left to eat. Utilize all the spices you can, as it is very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anp13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcata, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
This make a HUGE pot of soup! It is delicious and I wish mine had more cabbage in it - the biggest head I could find was still on the small side. I used fresh green beans and doubled the beef broth, added Worcestershire sauce, black pepper, hot sauce and pepper flakes - I like flavor. I made another pot and changed the veggies slightly to include cauliflower which I had on hand and saved a copy on here. I add turkey meatballs for meal replacements. This will be my new winter work lunch, it will allow me to save money and lose weight, win-win! If you decide to change the vegetables around and want to preserve the weight loss property, be very aware to avoid any starchy vegetables and limit vegetables that are high in sugar. I cooked mine about an hour, anymore than that and veggies will be too soft as they keep cooking until they cool and may cook a bit again when you warm up the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QuebecGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Casa Grande, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
To start off, there is nothing magical about this soup that makes you lose weight. It's tasty and full of fantastic vegetables that fill you up with very few calories. That's it. Lets face it though, many of us don't eat enough veggies. I love this recipe, and often add yellow squash and zucchini to liven it up. It's a great way to supplement your diet and get you to your weight loss goals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisa Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
It's a lot of chopping, but delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This is a great tasting soup for dieting. I think I will try adding some heat to it next time as mentioned by other reviewers, but otherwise just fine as written. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: New Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I made this last night and woke up this morning wanting another bowl for breakfast! I followed the recipe exactly but added salt, pepper, garlic salt and cayenne to taste. It is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mick Ehrhart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Too much tomato even for a tomato lover. Surprised this was labelled as healthful given the ingredients of the soup mix;Onions (deyhydrated), salt, cornstarch, onion powder, sugar, corn syrup, hydrolyzed soy protein, caramel color, partially hydrogenated soybean oil, monosodium glutamate, yeast extract, natural flavors, disodium inosinate, disodium guanylate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I love this soup and it's an added bonus that it is low in calories. I do make a few changes. I use spicy low sodium V-8 juice, non fat chicken broth, omit the dry onion soup (cutting down on sodium), fresh tomatoes, and fresh green beans. To add a kick I add crushed red pepper flakes. It makes a TON. I usually end up freezing some. It's great for those midnight trips to the fridge.... no guilt the next morning. I have also added skinless chicken to change it up during the week. Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wexford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 598) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States