Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Dryburgh
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I make this exact recipe only I add lentils, sage and kale. I serve it with lemon wedges option for fresh lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
The recipe has a good flavor, but the amount of onion and green pepper is too much. The next time I make the soup, I will cut both in half. I would likely also reduce the cabbage amount. It makes a LOT of soup, too. I'm wondering, for me, if it would be better to make a half recipe with one onion, one green pepper, and 1/2 head of cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I love this recipe! Like other reviewers have said, it makes a TON--I halved it right off the bat, and it still made more than I was ready for! I added some spices--black pepper, garlic powder and a little cayenne. Also, for those who feel "overwhelmed" by all the cabbage, I'd recommended chopping it more finely, almost diced. This soup is a fantastic way to get in those veggies during the winter when a salad just doesn't sound appetizing at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This is actually a pretty tasty recipe and very low calorie. I can have a heaping bowl for dinner at only 150cal a serving. While replacing dinner with this, I seem to be losing about a pound a week. When I make this recipe I do make some changes, I don't include the tomato juice as I have acid reflux. I also skip the peppers, which get mushy in soups, and just double up on green beans. To flavor the soup since I just use more stock instead of tomato juice, I use a tablespoon of Gochujang (Korean hot pepper paste). This gives the stock a good flavor and adds a kick to the recipe. If you know you're one of the people who doesn't digest leafy greens without audible evidence, it's not a bad idea to take some Beano or Gas-X before eating this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kandy Kakes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
This soup was amazing! I only made half because the whole thing would be way too much. I added corn, chili powder, and some shell shaped pasta. It had too much cabbage for my taste so I only did half of what the recipe called for. My changes made it not as healthy but it was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Sooo good...even better on day two! I, like most, added some extras; sliced mushrooms, a few dashes of worcestershire, dried herbs. I didn't add the water, just the beef stock and no green beans (not a fan). Huge pot of soup, but everyone loves it, it's going to go fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ttsmom9103

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Shockingly delicious. I reduced the serving size to 10 servings and followed the recipe with the addition of ground turkey. Will make more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
This is a great, easy, and very satisfying soup. I made a half batch and it is still a ton of food. To save on a bit of the chopping, I used a bag of pre-cut cole slaw instead of the head of cabbage. I also substituted a can of black beans (for protein) for the green beans (ick), and added some garlic, thyme, and basil. Planning on using it for lunches and for my late night snacks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I gave one star cause I haven't tried this one, but I am. I tried another one that on the First day you eat all the soup you want with fruits, except bananas, Second day all the soup you want with vegetables,except corn Third day All the soup you want with veggies and fruit and at the end of day 1 baked potato with butter, Its a Seven Day diet. Has anyone heard of this one?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lupe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Temple, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Ignore the warnings of not changing the ingredients, go ahead! Canned tomato juice is high in sodium so I increase the low sodium beef broth. Often I include fresh or frozen veggies that's on sale at the market. I like to always include zucchini and yellow squash. I amp up the carrots & use a whole bunch of celery. I add veggies to the pot at different intervals because I like 'em on the crunchy side. I often change the seasoning packets to chile , taco or whatever suits my fancy. Stick with this without CHEATING and you'll loose weight. There is a calender of what to eat on certain days that goes with this diet. You can get unhealthy if just eating this and this alone. You're allowed meats & bananas, for example but on specific days. Google "cabbage soup diet schedule" and follow the plan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kootsa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 601) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States