Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Too much tomato even for a tomato lover. Surprised this was labelled as healthful given the ingredients of the soup mix;Onions (deyhydrated), salt, cornstarch, onion powder, sugar, corn syrup, hydrolyzed soy protein, caramel color, partially hydrogenated soybean oil, monosodium glutamate, yeast extract, natural flavors, disodium inosinate, disodium guanylate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I love this soup and it's an added bonus that it is low in calories. I do make a few changes. I use spicy low sodium V-8 juice, non fat chicken broth, omit the dry onion soup (cutting down on sodium), fresh tomatoes, and fresh green beans. To add a kick I add crushed red pepper flakes. It makes a TON. I usually end up freezing some. It's great for those midnight trips to the fridge.... no guilt the next morning. I have also added skinless chicken to change it up during the week. Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wexford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Have made this once so far. Really liked it! I'm not eating it every meal, just for dinner each day, and its been fantastic. Also I only made half the recipe (since i live alone, and also dont want to have to freeze it), and i made mine into 5 servings... so that'd be the equivalent of making 10 servings out of the original recipe. Only modification I made was that I used vegetable broth instead of beef broth (already had vegetable broth i needed to use up in the fridge), and because of that change I got "beefy onion" soup powder at the store instead of the regular onion. I also added 1/2 lb ground turkey to mine (would be 1lb per full batch). I definitely plan to make this again... I think the only changes I would make are adding some mushrooms, a little garlic, and possibly adding some tomato paste or blending some of my ingredients to make it creamier. Great as is too though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jorie
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I don't know if I'll lose weight this way, but I love the taste and it definitely fills you up. I added a dash of Cayenne Pepper because I've heard that revs the metabolism as well, and it was great! I uploaded a photo to show that people aren't kidding when they say it makes a lot...my guess is it's approx. 10 - 12 quarts!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
This soup is delicious! I used the hot and spicy tomoatoe juice instead of the plain regular tomatoe juice and I add frozen mixed veggies on top of the veggies the recipe calls for. Very filling. My lunch for the week! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
I added fresh herbs (parsley, rosemary, thyme, and basil), jalapeno pepper, and a couple cloves of garlic to this soup for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I made some changes, started this June 27th, down 6 lbs AFTER stuffing my face for 4th of July! Used V8 juice as recommended by others instead of plain tomato juice, used a head of broccoli instead of celery, used red & orange bell peppers instead of green, had beefy onion soup mix so used that, had the carrots cut into chunks like another reviewer suggested (good call!), and boiled 3 chicken breasts, shredded them and added to the soup. Salt to taste. DELICIOUS! So good my mom tried mine and asked me to make her a batch! It reminded us both of Campbell's Vegetable soup back in the day (no idea if it tastes the same now). I could never eat just this all day every day even though it's tasty. Instead I've been using it as at least one meal replacement. Healthy breakfast, soup for lunch (sometimes with, sometimes without triscuits), generally whatever for dinner. This soup is SO low in calories that even a bad day can end with not going over my calorie goals for the day. I exercise regularly but love to eat so this soup has been a great boost in weight loss. I've NEVER lost weight so fast and I'm not hungry! If I get hungry, I have a bowl of this soup! Very pleased with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
This is so good. I added a bit of Tabasco sauce for a little kick, a little vinegar, worcestershire sauce and some spinach, because I'm low on iron and I love spinach lol. I like my veggies a little crunchy so I simmered til al dente. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by live2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beamsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Great soup, very filling and economical!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
This recipe is great! I love cabbage, so instead of this being a "diet" soup for me, it seemed more like a treat! And I love that you can eat as much as you want anytime you're hungry! Getting ready to drop some unwanted extra pounds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 541) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States