Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2015
I made this tonight for dinner and I have to say I love it. I was lacking a few ingredients, the onion soup mix and the green beans so I subbed in a small eggplant for the green beans and i used some dried onion flakes, onion powder, a bit of nutritional yeast, approx. 2 tablespoons tomato paste and some pepper for the onion soup mix. Made it up like the recipe says and tucked in. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kittykat2233

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longview, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2015
I used this recipe in 1996 and and lost over 11 pounds in a week. Then, I lost nothing for the next 7 days. When in subsequent weeks you only loose a couple of pound this diet is sooooo disheartening. It is without doubt the most disgusting soup I've ever made and was so bad I had to liquidise it and drink it like medicine - which then made me wretch. Yes, an excellent way to loose weight but I wonder how many people who suffered this awful regime simply piled the pounds back on when they returned to unrestricted eating! In subsequent years I've substituted the cabbage for Korean kimchi and it hasn't been so vile. Just my opinion, no offence meant ? ? ?.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2015
It is working! I have lost 4 lbs and I'm on day 2 of the cabbage soup diet! I ate the soup because it smelled so good while I was cooking it the night before the diet; my original plan was to eat this juicy French Dip sandwich my fiancé made before having to do this diet, but I just ate the soup. I did have to dr it up quite a bit though. So, that being said, it is OK to dr it up to your liking, TO AN EXTENT. The ingredients aid in your fat-burning, yes, but adding seasoning such as I did, does not ruin the recipe and it just makes you more likely to be successful eating something you can eat… Just DON'T add fat if your goal is to lose fat! Here's what I did… I added all ingredients to their fullest and DID NOT substitute anything. I used all organic foods… Expensive, yea somewhat, but not really when you consider how much it makes and how long you'll have soup for! I gave my sister a week's worth and have about 14 servings left. Anyhow… I added, little by little, worcestershire, italian seasoning, bay leaves, a little cumin, and garlic seasoning. I added a little and tasted a little until I came out with a fabulous recipe. I also thought I used too much water, so I doubled up on the beef stock, tomato, and onion soup mix. SO for those who did not like it, I completely understand. It was bland. But I made it happen. I was a bit worried I screwed up my diet by adding the extra onion mix, beef stock, tomato, and worcestershire since it is all so high in sodium, but surprisingl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by krstal02
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2015
I like it yet it lacks seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krstal02

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2015
Absolutely delicious soup. I made 2 very minor adjustments. I personally hate chunks of cooked tomato, so I substituted tomato puree. Also I added minced garlic. Tastes amazing, and as an added bonus my kitchen smells fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari Maxham

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
Does the job and leaves room for tweaking for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boyd Reid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
Hate the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2015
I had been looking for a cabbage soup recipe. Had it at a restaurant and wanted to make it. I like this recipe because you can add whatever veggies you have on hand. I didn't have tomato juice on hand so I just used diced tomato and some tomato paste. It is a bit bland and you do have to season it up. My kitchen smells wonderful. Not looking to lose weight but for my family to eat better. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Merrillville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
First time I made this, following directions but using vegetable stock,(I'm vegetarian)it was so good that I decided to make it again, this time adding 1-cup (dry) beans, that I've home-cooked ahead) for protein. It was also very good and now I make it with the beans all the time and freeze all but a few days' amount to be eaten within a couple of days. Even with the added beans, I've lost several pounds in three weeks! Note: I freeze it in pint containers, so I can thaw the right amount for each day. To make the full recipe each time, I use a canning size pot. It really does make a lot! Saves me time and helps me lose some extra weight. What more could I ask!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
This is a great dish for those who work long days. I make a huge pot of it on Sundays and my husband and I take it to work for lunch. It makes a lot so be sure you have a very large pot or cut it in half. I use low sodium Spicy V8 instead of normal tomato juice so give it a bit more kick. I also cook it a bit longer so the flavors blend. Great low cal dish for the work week and a perfect way to use up veggies in the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lbaltadonis
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 653) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States