Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
I have made this before and it does make a lot! And you do need to stay fairly close to a bathroom because it seems to run right thru you! Probably because of all the veggies. I thought it tasted good as is. The people that add potatoes or garbanzo beans or meat...or olive oil!!!, you are taking the fat burning away from the soup!! You can't add all of those carbs!If it was a regular vegtable soup it's fine. You can't make all those changes to a recipe and then say you didn't like it. That's not a fair review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Williams, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Does this freeze well?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis Ryder Brown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
While I suppose the recipe does its job, its so very low on calories. But my rating is for the taste. It is so very bland. I think its great for adding veggies to your diet, and nothing more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Howlette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I made this soup as part of my 1200 calorie a day diet. It was great having a go to meal anytime I was feeling hungry. And with only about 90 calories you can't beat it! I would have it for dinner with a great big salad and 6 oz lean protein and stay full for quit some time. I stuck pretty well to this recipe except for adding some kale. The batch lasted me two weeks ( I froze half of it the day I made it). When I heated it I added garlic POWDER, onion POWDER, Italian seasoning and crushed red pepper. DELICIOUS! And it seemed to me the longer it was in the fridge, the better it tasted:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Robertsdale, Alabama, USA
Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I was looki g for a tecipe similar ro my mom's, but I couldn't find one. Then I stumbled across this. I thought I'd use it as a rough guide line. I had to alter the recipe a bit. I used what I had available as I live in the UK. I used 1 small cabbage (a large would have been too much), 500 ml of passata?, 400 g diced tomatoes, 3 carrots, 2 parsnips, 1 green pepper, 2 stock cubes, amd topped up with water. I threw in my fave herbs (oregano, basil, parsley, bay leaf,thyme) I chopped the garlic and added 1/3 onion powder. I didn't add salt as stock cubes have enough salt, but it needed ore salt. Second time, I did 5 stock cubes and 2 tins of tomatoes, 1 tsp onion powder, 2 bay leaves and majoram, no parsley, 5 carrots, and only topped up the to just go over the cabbage. The rest of the herbs stayed the same and I cut the cabbage smaller and took out the heart. It tasted miles better this time. I've lost weight eating this, only because it's filling. I don't thi k it has any fat burning properties, just wholesome soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Made this tonight. We used spicy v8 juice instead of tomato juice and made about 2/3rds of a batch. Used purple cabbage instead of green and left out the onion soup mix as there's plenty of sodium in the v8 juice. We really enjoyed this soup and I look forward to eating it frequently over the next few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Hinker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
This recipe is the best way to lose quickly and it is delicious. Try adding a splash of balsamic vinegar. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Outstanding! I added 2-3 TB of Sriracha sauce and 1-2 TB dried minced garlic to the pot. I also used Chinese (Napa) cabbage as it is milder. After cooking the soup, I scooped some into another pot with 2 fillets of chopped tilapia and cooked until tilapia was cooked through. Asian fish soup - without too much heat. Might try some extra firm tofu next time for another protein source.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
As a "diet soup" this would get 5 stars...it works to radically reduce calories and carbs as written, and is filling enough to curb a stubborn appetite. It would be a rare person who would fail to lose weight replacing just one meal a day with this soup. I dropped one star for the lack of seasoning. Not many reviewers raved about this recipe without adding their own tweaks. My advice would be to make a smaller batch to begin with and tweak until you find a seasoning combination that you really like. If you don't like the taste, you won't be able to stick with it on a frequent, or daily basis, and so it won't work as a weight control tool. If you get too much of something, you'll be stuck with a couple gallons of soup you'll quickly tire of. (which is what I did!) Once you've perfected to your own satisfaction, THEN make the larger batch and freeze some of it. As with most soups, this is better the second day and beyond. I like the idea of rotating flavors, and my next batch I plan to make "bland" and season it in smaller quantities as I pull them out of the freezer. This way I can keep it more interesting from day to day. For those of you who are cooking for the gout-stricken, this is VERY gout-friendly, and a good way to help get those desirable veggies into the diet...IF you can keep it interesting enough to be eaten on a regular basis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
This was just "OK." The cabbage soup from the 7-Day Weight Loss Diet (aka 'Wonder Soup') is much better. It has a chicken-broth base instead of beef, and I think the seasonings - garlic, basil, oregano, red pepper - make it a more flavorful soup. I'll stick with that one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 600) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States