Cabbage Casserole Vegetable Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I enjoyed this very much. Used some cheddar cheese and a wedge of laughing cow cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This recipe is such a great down-home Louisiana comfort food! I noticed someone commenting that they used alot of pots and pans. I just sauteed the cabbage and onion together, then threw the rest into the skillet. That eliminated an extra pan, collander, etc. This recipe is wonderful. VERY good. VERY VERY good. I will be adding this to our cheap and easy dinner menu at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Countryboyjwill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kentwood, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Let me start by saying I do NOT like cabbage... but this is a really good recipe that even makes me crave cabbage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I love cabbage dishes, but I found the processed cheese amount to be too much. Next time I would decrease the cheese by at least 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This is delicious and would be a good sub for mashed potatoes for those on the low carb diet- it has the same consistency. Using so much butter is just unnecessary and unhealthy. I used 2 Tbsp. butter to saute the onion and added a bit of milk to dilute the soup. We prefer cheddar cheese, so I used 1/2 cup of sharp cheddar and added 1 tsp. of thyme, as another cook had suggested, and french fried onions on top. Even those who do not like cooked cabbage thought it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
easy, inexpensive and very good. I used fried onions on top instead of bread crumbs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Like some other people, I mixed the recipe up a bit. I omitted the onion, grated in 2 cloves of garlic, used evoo when sauteeing and added chopped mushrooms and a little bit of ground sausage. I went light on the cheese and it was really good! Even my husband who isn't a cabbage fan ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Cabbage in a cheesy sauce sounded good but it didn't work for our family. Maybe I didn't make it right, I sauteed the cabbage instead of boiling it. Someone else below had recommended this and as I had done this before for another recipe with good results, gave it a whirl. My son said it was too creamy for his tastes and my daughter, who eats anything, wouldn't touch this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
5 stars with a few additions. I agree that the original recipes needs just a bit of tweeking, but an excellent base. I chuckled when I read the negative review about all the pans, etc. I too try to make things easier, and I have an aversion to boiling any veggie as it robs all the goodness. So, I sauteed a chopped onion, two cloves garlic, some green & red pepper I had in the fridge until soft in a little EVOO. Then added the cabbage. Covered it, stirring freqently until soft. I added S&P, thyme, marjoram (or whatever spice you like). Then added the can of soup, the cheese (I used shredded sharp cheddar and less than called for). Stirred till melted and encorporated. Transferred to a dish, sprinkled seasoned bread crumbs over, and a reserved bit of cheddar. Used NO butter, just a bit of oil. Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grosse Pointe Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States