Cabbage-Carrot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Using fat-free milk, and a mere 2 oz of shredded cheddar cheese, this came out far richer than I expected which was awesome! It calculated to only 3 Weight Watchers PointsPlus per serving, too, which makes it even more awesome! I did increase the spices and decrease the initial cooking time of the cabbage and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zagmek

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
If you like cooked cabbage, this recipe is for YOU. These ingredients meld so well together. I halved the recipe since there were only 2 of us, and we had plenty for lunch the next day also. I served this with 'Grilled Chicken Wings with Sweet Red Chili and Peach Glaze', another AR recipe. These 2 dishes went well together and we had a great dinner. Thanks Paula for sharing your recipe, I'm really glad this recipe got published.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I made this casserole for the first time January 2012, when it was still a "personal" recipe that Paula so graciously shared back then. This was my Review, as follows: "CABBAGE-CARROT CASSEROLE” ~ We BOTH really liked this casserole! My husband does not usually comment, but he did this time. I used freshly grated Colby-jack cheese for the cheese sauce (good) because that is all I had, but would also like to try mild cheddar as Paula suggested. Nice to find a new recipe that is a keeper. I did NOT use chicken broth. For the cheese sauce, I used half reserved broth from draining the cooked cabbage/carrots (in water) and half non-fat milk (did use real butter though). Creamy and delish. I forgot to sprinkle on the paprika. SO SIMPLE BUT GOOD. WE THANK YOU PAULA, AND YOUR GRANDMA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Judy in Delaware
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Oh this was absolutely delicious. I did halve the recipe for the two of us and baked it in an 8 x 8 dish. Wow, it was soooo good. Served it with Best City Chicken (AR) and steamed, buttered rice. We both really enjoyed the combination, and I KNOW this will be made again and again. Thanks, Paula!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy in Delaware

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
This is really good! Followed the recipe to the letter, though I did use reduced fat cheese for health reasons, and I grated some black pepper on the top (along with the paprika). Thanks for sharing, Paula! I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
This is fabulous! I only made half a recipe because my kids will never eat cabbage, but they loved it so much that we didn't have enough. They even came back for seconds! I am going to get more cabbage and make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
OH MY GOSH! Thank your grandmother for passing this one on! It was SO DELCIOUS! I have a new favorite! Everyone love love loved it! I made it to accompany bbq ribs and baked potatos. I left in in bigger pieces than grated and thin sliced IT was the PERFECT match! Can't wait to eat the leftovers today~ Thanks again! SOOOOOOOO YUMMMMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bggv62

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sturtevant, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This recipe is fantastic -- I've made it twice in the last week and we've eaten it up -- it's so good I could drink it! This will definitely be a staple in our home! BTW I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Made recipe exactly as written except used vegetable bouillon cubes. My husband and I really enjoyed this. I will make again, but will most likely double it to freeze for lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beloit, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Serving for 8?...I dont' think so. This was a serving for 2 with a little left over for our lunches the next day. The casserole is delicious. This one is a keeper. My dish actually looked like the photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States