Cabbage-Carrot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Easy and good. Perfect family style side. I used a bag of shredded cabbage and carrots, adding an extra carrot (I made a half recipe). I put in individual baking cups for a different presentation. Came together very well, I mixed it all up and refrigerated for a bit before throwing in the oven. Very economical too, thanks for sharing your recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Clever way to make a meatless cabbage dish that is tasty, nutritious, and low calorie. Tasted the cabbage and carrots after coating with cheese sauce, and a bit more zing was needed to suit our tastes. Added sazon seasoning and a dash cayenne powder. Topped the casserole with herb seasoned bread crumbs and shredded cheddar cheese. This is a versatile dish, and easily customized to individual tastes and/or adding favorite ingredients. Used about a 60% red (1 medium)/40% green (1 small) fresh cabbage mixture mainly for the much greater antioxidant power of the red variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I definitely did not cook the cabbage for as long as instructed. I would say altogether this took about 30 minutes- I cut up the cabbage and started boiling it before tossing the carrots (and a parsnip) into the mix. I used homemade turkey broth instead of bouillon and mixed a bit of smoked paprika into the roux. Took it to a potluck and came home with an empty casserole dish. I call that success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
This was great! Very easy and all items I had on hand. I sprinkled fresh tarragon on the top which was a nice edition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mirielcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flossmoor, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This is so good! I'm looking forward to adding it to my dinners as a side dish, or for lunch the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Thank you so much for posting this! I was looking for a recipe to use a large cabbage that a neighbor gave me from his garden. I got way more than I wanted, everyone loved it and I got a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
We try to make this every month now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Good one, Paula! I wanted to use a head of cabbage from Hubs' garden, and I wanted something other than slaw, so I selected this recipe. I made this as written, but used chicken broth rather than bouillon and water. And I couldn’t resist putting some lightly buttered panko over the top for a little crunch. This was a nice change for us and we’ll be making it again! Thanks, Paula!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Made this yesterday, to serve with our corned beef for St Pat's Day. It was a big hit! I did not have any bouillon, so I increased the amount of water and cooked the cabbage/carrots with a onion soup packet, turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I made this with my corned beef on St. Patricks Day. Everyone liked it! Even my picky son. It was a nice change from the traditional cabbage served with corned beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States