Cabbage-Carrot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Clever way to make a meatless cabbage dish that is tasty, nutritious, and low calorie. Tasted the cabbage and carrots after coating with cheese sauce, and a bit more zing was needed to suit our tastes. Added sazon seasoning and a dash cayenne powder. Topped the casserole with herb seasoned bread crumbs and shredded cheddar cheese. This is a versatile dish, and easily customized to individual tastes and/or adding favorite ingredients. Used about a 60% red (1 medium)/40% green (1 small) fresh cabbage mixture mainly for the much greater antioxidant power of the red variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I definitely did not cook the cabbage for as long as instructed. I would say altogether this took about 30 minutes- I cut up the cabbage and started boiling it before tossing the carrots (and a parsnip) into the mix. I used homemade turkey broth instead of bouillon and mixed a bit of smoked paprika into the roux. Took it to a potluck and came home with an empty casserole dish. I call that success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
This was great! Very easy and all items I had on hand. I sprinkled fresh tarragon on the top which was a nice edition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mirielcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flossmoor, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This is so good! I'm looking forward to adding it to my dinners as a side dish, or for lunch the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Thank you so much for posting this! I was looking for a recipe to use a large cabbage that a neighbor gave me from his garden. I got way more than I wanted, everyone loved it and I got a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
We try to make this every month now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Good one, Paula! I wanted to use a head of cabbage from Hubs' garden, and I wanted something other than slaw, so I selected this recipe. I made this as written, but used chicken broth rather than bouillon and water. And I couldn’t resist putting some lightly buttered panko over the top for a little crunch. This was a nice change for us and we’ll be making it again! Thanks, Paula!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Made this yesterday, to serve with our corned beef for St Pat's Day. It was a big hit! I did not have any bouillon, so I increased the amount of water and cooked the cabbage/carrots with a onion soup packet, turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I made this with my corned beef on St. Patricks Day. Everyone liked it! Even my picky son. It was a nice change from the traditional cabbage served with corned beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This has become a go-to recipe for us. I typically follow the recipe exactly, using either green or red cabbage - whatever I have in the fridge, but I'll also throw in an extra carrot if I have it on hand. It is always delicious, and quick/easy to prepare. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Plains, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States