Cabbage Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
A great way to use up some extra cabbage- my husband and I definitely enjoyed them. They were a tad bland though, so I think I will add some garlic powder or something to give them a little spice next time. I did appreciate the healthiness, and even used half the amount of vegetable oil, and served with fat free sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Plymouth, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
When Erin mentioned it being a little bland, I added some Caraway seed. Always works well with cabbage. Old East European touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Warren

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
As the previous reviews states these are bland. I added white pepper, garlic salt and ginger. Didn't help much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I was pleasantly surprised. Tasted great with a little hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
THis is a great recipe but do yourself a favor and just use a premixed pancake recipe, in my opinion it works just as well and it takes that much less time to prepare. Also I ate this like I would eat a potato pancake, prepared with bacon, onions and with sour cream. Delicious will for sure make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Great comfort food! I was making this with whole wheat flour, and found that I did not have an egg, so went ahead anyway! I added 1 T. prepared mustard and 2 tsp. caraway seeds because other people in reviews said it needed something. This tastes like something that I would have had at my grandmother's! I'll be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I added caraway seeds as recomended, subbed lowfat cottage cheese for yogurt, doubled the eggs, and used 1/2 whole wheat and 1/2 rye bread crumbs. Really good. Kiddo is taking a few for her lunch today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnT77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tantuc
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
I love this new way to feed cabbage to my kids! They are good all by themselves. Here is what I made different: used 1/2c of whole rye flour, 2tsp caraway seeds and some granulated onion, greek fat free yogurt, rice milk, 1/2tsp salt. My cakes turned out a bit on a dark side, maybe due to the changed ingredients. I'll be making these again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I made these with red cabbage, and I also added about a teaspoon of caraway seed to the cabbage in the skillet. There were absolutely delicious. They simply need some salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swaswa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Squamish, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This recipe looked interesting so I gave it a try and was pleasantly surprised. I skipped the cabbage & onion ingredients and substituted about one cup of leftover cabbage, carrots and onions from St. Patrick's day corned beef and cabbage. Drained the vegetables well, ran a knife through them for a rough chop and then folded them into the batter. Check seasoning based on the saltiness of the cooked vegetables. These cooked up very light and fluffy. This was a great way to use up a small amount of leftover veggies. The batter was VERY easy to make and turned out lighter than boxed mixes. This is a keeper that can be adapted to please individual tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bethesda, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States