Cabbage Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This is a great recipe just the way it is, but add a large handful of corned beef cut in strips to the batter then serve with a little spicy deli mustard on the side and you have a great dish for lunch or brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Yummy!!!! Made these for breakfast this morning using caraway seed and cottage cheese. I can't wait to experiment with different spices to change up this already excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This recipe looked interesting so I gave it a try and was pleasantly surprised. I skipped the cabbage & onion ingredients and substituted about one cup of leftover cabbage, carrots and onions from St. Patrick's day corned beef and cabbage. Drained the vegetables well, ran a knife through them for a rough chop and then folded them into the batter. Check seasoning based on the saltiness of the cooked vegetables. These cooked up very light and fluffy. This was a great way to use up a small amount of leftover veggies. The batter was VERY easy to make and turned out lighter than boxed mixes. This is a keeper that can be adapted to please individual tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bethesda, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I made these with red cabbage, and I also added about a teaspoon of caraway seed to the cabbage in the skillet. There were absolutely delicious. They simply need some salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swaswa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Squamish, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tantuc
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
I love this new way to feed cabbage to my kids! They are good all by themselves. Here is what I made different: used 1/2c of whole rye flour, 2tsp caraway seeds and some granulated onion, greek fat free yogurt, rice milk, 1/2tsp salt. My cakes turned out a bit on a dark side, maybe due to the changed ingredients. I'll be making these again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I added caraway seeds as recomended, subbed lowfat cottage cheese for yogurt, doubled the eggs, and used 1/2 whole wheat and 1/2 rye bread crumbs. Really good. Kiddo is taking a few for her lunch today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnT77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Great comfort food! I was making this with whole wheat flour, and found that I did not have an egg, so went ahead anyway! I added 1 T. prepared mustard and 2 tsp. caraway seeds because other people in reviews said it needed something. This tastes like something that I would have had at my grandmother's! I'll be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
THis is a great recipe but do yourself a favor and just use a premixed pancake recipe, in my opinion it works just as well and it takes that much less time to prepare. Also I ate this like I would eat a potato pancake, prepared with bacon, onions and with sour cream. Delicious will for sure make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I was pleasantly surprised. Tasted great with a little hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
As the previous reviews states these are bland. I added white pepper, garlic salt and ginger. Didn't help much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States