Cabbage Borsht Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2006
This was delicious! I sized the recipe down to serve 5, and added all the ingredients(except bay leaves, didn't have any), into the crock-pot. Turned it up to high for about 4-5 hours. Instead of bone-in chicken pieces I used boneless chicken thighs, and dried dill instead of fresh. My family ate with no complaints! We enjoyed the soup with some stoned wheat crackers. It makes great left overs the next day. Thank you Star20 for the great borsht. 5 stars...would make again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
Wonderful,hearty meal!!My german grandma made something similar but added crushed hard boiled eggs and stirred in the whole container of sour cream to the pot,it has been a Christmas eve tradition for years and it freezes great too for later.Also taste good with turkey beef or pork!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
WONDERFUL, I USED GROUND BEEF, LOW CAL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This is just how I remember it. I make this soup in big batches and freeze it. It keeps really well. It's not for everyone, in fact my fiance and father won't touch it, but I think it's wonderful. I don't bother with the bay leaves, maybe it would be better with them but I don't want to mess with a good thing. Anway, thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitKat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I enjoyed the recipe. I added some salsa to make it a little spicier. This is a keeper for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I made this recipe for my mother-in-law tonight, a bit nervous about it because she makes cabbage soup all the time. She loved it! yay! Even after I told her I forgot about the chicken... OOPS! lol Oh well, next time!! thx for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
This was just like my grandma used to make it. Very yummy with the sour cream and I added a splash of jalapeño juice to spice it up. The whole family was happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Very nice soup. Made vegetarian version with Morningstar "meat" crumbles. Halved recipe and substituted a can of diced tomatoes for the tomato soup. Added a few cloves of minced garlic and used dry instead of fresh dill. Resulted in a great soup that my wife and I both really enjoyed. Will definitely make again. 4.5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Left out the chicken as I'm a vegan, and added some Seitan. Came out fantastic and my girlfriend and I went through the batch in two days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Demcio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Good light home soup. Andrew loves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mohegan Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States