Cabbage Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
AWESOME recipe! It was SUPER delicious and is one I will make again, again, and again! I did add diced tomatoes like some suggested. I also used chili beans which had chili seasoning since I didn't have cumin. I added a tad bit of sugar (because sometimes I like a sweeter soup!) Overall, LOVE this recipe! Perfect for a cold day! LOVE THIS SOUP!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This was great! My picky kids even liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica Terry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
wonderful flavor, cooked on stove top in about an hour. Cant wait for leftovers for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wendy Chazarreta
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
This is better the next day. I added carrots, pinto beans and some garlic and used V8 instead of the tomato sauce. This was filling with some cornbread and makes a lot (probably enough for 8). Also I cooked mine on the stove for about an hour and a half. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Chazarreta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I found this recipe probably two winters ago now. It is a staple in my home...A real favorite. I do add hot peppers, either fresh or canned and a bit of cayenne to suit or taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
When I showed my husband the recipe, he didn't like the idea at all (cabbage). I made it anyway. :-) As usual, I tried to reduce the sodium. Didn't bother with the vegetable oil, because the skillet I used is well-seasoned. I added a little garlic powder while browning the meat. Used no salt added/reduced sodium beans & 1 can tomato sauce, 1 can petite diced tomatoes (for texture). Skipped the 4 bouillon cubes and 1 tsp salt; instead I used low sodium beef broth and a little beef Better Than Bouillon instead. Toward the end of cooking, I tasted & added maybe 1 T sugar and a fair amount of Worcestershire sauce. Next time I will likely reduce the cumin, and add some paprika. ~~ Husband enjoyed the soup (said it was good), but our daughter didn't eat much (not a surprise). I mostly liked it, but will adjust the seasoning a little the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I love cabbage beef soup so when I ran across this recipe I was excited. The only thing I did a little different was I added one can of rotel with the tomato sauce. It gave it a small kick but boy it was yummy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Good recipe. Listen, in order for the cabbage not to get soggy, just cook every thing else in a pan first. I used sausage. When it was almost done I threw in some peppers and onions, then garlic powder, pepper, chilli powder, and paprika. Then I added diced tomatoes with chilies and I used black beans. Yes, all undrained. Now pour all that cooked food into your pot. I poured in low sodium chicken broth instead of water until it floated but mine was spicy. Lastly, add your cabbage. To make it not taste like chili add thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I had searched for years for this recipe!! We had this soup at Shoney's in Mobile, Alabama after working at an outdoor event in December. We were chilled to the bone and this just warmed us up instantly. I made this yesterday and DH loved it. My 87 yo Mom also loved it. A neighbor stopped by, joined us at the table and left with a "to go" jar of soup and a print out of the recipe!!We love this recipe. Thanks for a very happy end to our search for this healthy, warming, soup, NancyScott - well done
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Caldwell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I made it today didn't use crock pot just the stove for 2hours my husband said " best soup I ever had". Now that's a review
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 344) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States