Cabbage Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2007
Wondeful and healthy. I used pinto instead of kidney beans as I've read pintos have more nutritional value. I used diced tomatoes instead of tomato sauce and added two teaspoons of diced garlic. I cut the cumin to avoid the "chili" comments a few had shared. I also used chicken broth instead of water. I served this over brown rice, again because it's a whole grain, and it was so yummy. Great recipe that you can throw together in a few minutes and allow to cook all day. I did 8 hours on low and then it was on warm for about 2 hours. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
Excellent- I was so happy with the way this turned out! I used 2 cans of tomato sauce, one can of diced tomatoes, 2 cans of beans (non-drained) and one additional can of beans (drained). Don't add the water- let the liquid from the beans and the tomatoes be the broth! I cooked this on the stove in a big pot in about an hour and a half- no problems. Also- wait to add the cabbage until you're about halfway done, and definitely add about a full head of cabbage. This was great and we will be enjoying this again- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
The soup was very tastey. It does remind me of a thin chili. Next time I beleive I will only use two beef bouillon cubes. I also learned you may want to add cabbage half way through cooking time. So it is not over cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
We really enjoyed this soup. It tastes a lot like the cabbage beef soup at Shoneys restuarant. My husband had never heard of cabbage beef soup before, but he really really loved. I did add some garlic powder when frying the meat, and I also cut up some celery and dropped it in as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
My husband and I both loved this soup. I only used 2 cans of tomato sauce and substituted the third can with a can of diced tomatoes. I did not add the water at all and did not drain the beans. It made a thick flavorful soup which I cooked in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
Chili beans were a hit in this recipe. I also used beef base instead of cubes to cut down on the sodium. Ground turkey made this even lower fat; a great way to add some cruciferous vegetables to your diet! Healthy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
This did seem a bit like chili with cabbage in it. I used ranch style beans and black beans as well as a 14 oz. can of diced tomatoes and 16 oz. of tomato sauce. I added garlic to the beef and reduced the cumin a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
I gave this a 5 even tho i change a coupel thing, i did not have kidney beans, but i used fresh green beans (my kids love those) made a double batch hoping to freeze some but it did not last, brought some to work and it was gone!! kids loved it too definatly make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Massalski Ferrazza

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Thanks for sharing this recipe!!! I've made it over and over again since I first stumbled upon it, and my whole family loves it. I'm giving it 5 out of 5 stars because it's a great concept and it lead me to a new family favorite; but in my opinion it needs a few adjustments. The first time I made it I followed the recipe exactly and we found it to be a little overpowering. Since then, I make it with the following changes: I use half the cumin, half the pepper, one 16 oz. can of kidney beans, one 15 oz. can of tomato sauce, two 14 oz. cans of chicken broth, and no water. I also added 1/2 tsp. each of garlic powder and onion powder. This suits our tastes much better and makes the soup alot less chili-like. I also leave out the oil because I don't see a need for the added calories/fat, and have found that leaving it out doesn't take anything away from the soup. To make this recipe in alot less time: Fry the hamburger and onion in a large soup pot until browned, drain, and put back in the same pot. Add all of the other ingredients to the pot and bring to a boil. Once boiling, turn the heat down to med-low and cover with a lid. Simmer for 1/2 hour to 45 minutes or until the cabbage is tender, stirring occasionally. Serve and enjoy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz in MN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
this is very good. Very much like the one I make. I add a large can of tomatoes including juice, the can full of water, 2 stalks of celery, and two 8 oz can of Tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 344) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States