Cabbage Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
We loved this! I have a picky hunny but he told me i'd better make this every week! lol :) thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenbrier, Tennessee, USA
Living In: White House, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I have made this Soup 3 times already and it just keeps getting better and better every time! Of course it always tastes better the next day after all of the flavors have molded together, but this is absolutely the BEST cabbage soup recipe that I have ever tried! This is definately a fave in my house and will be for a long time to come! EXCELLENT job on this one!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This soup was very good. I made some substitutions based on what I had on hand so I used black beans instead of kidney beans, salsa instead of tomato sauce and beef broth instead of booullion cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nspireme

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Started this from memory, so had a few changes. (I had looked at a similar recipe prior to making this.) Don't think my changes were enough to change the basic recipe. I had already chopped green peppers, onions and celery and had them sauteing in butter before I could get my daughter off the computer long enough to let me check the recipe! I used a quart jar of my canned crushed tomatoes and 1 can kidney beans. (What I had on hand.) Used bullion granules and left out the salt. Other recipe called for 2 cups cabbage. REALLY glad I used the 5 that this recipe called for! May try 2 cans beans next time, but hubby and I think the cabbage is the star in this recipe. (He didn't even know he likes cabbage! He does now! LOL) Left cabbage a little crunchy, and it was great! I also did this on the stovetop rather than the slow cooker. My 12 yr old picky eater wouldn't even TRY it! (Typical!) My 9 yr old had 2 bowls and came back for a 3rd and 4th later! Hubby and I had 2 BIG bowls each! Absolutely delishes!!!!! Thank you for a great recipe!!!!! Edit: I made this again without the green pepper and celery. Must say that we liked it much better with the original changes I made. Still an excellent recipe as is. Just adjust to suit your families tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shelley
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Very good receipe. I added some chopped green peppers and used a jar of roasted garlic tomato sauce and chili beans instead of kidney beans. It is very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This was really good. Even my fussy 8 year old liked it. Basically he will only eat broccoli cheese soup or chili, no other soups. Personally my family would like it with more of the tasty broth. I also thought I would like some peeled chopped potato in it. It does hint at tasting like a chili and I might consider cutting back on the cumin sometimes also. Very yummy comfort food. Ohh I also did not have a 24oz tomato sauce so I used a 28 oz can Pastene ground tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
As others have written, it is like chili with cabbage but it is pretty tasty, and very easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Really really good!! Didnt change a thing and thought it was great! Perfect for a cold winter's night!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This soup was awesome - my husband couldn't believe how good it was and healthy too! My mom stopped by and had a bowl and now she wants the recipe too. I like that it is made with tomato-based broth instead of chicken broth. My changes: Instead of kidney beans I used black beans (I had them on hand), I subbed spaghetti sauce instead of tomato sauce (once again what I had on hand), and added some chopped sweet red peppers. It turned out thick, filling and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MikesGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orrville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rittman, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Delicious! My husband claims to despise cabbage, but never even knew it was in there and loved it! I only used 1 can of beans, deleted the cumin, added more stock and a bunch of garlic. I also simmered it on stove for a few hours. Very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellykulpa

Displaying results 81-90 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States