Cabbage Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
This was great & simple. I used ground turkey instead of beef and in lieu of the tomato sauce I used 1 can Rotel tomatoes and 1 can Italian seasoned chopped tomatoes. It added a nice little kick. My husband really liked it so I know it was good! Giving 4 stars due to having made modifications. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
A bit on the salty side. Omit the salt if sodium is a concern. Add the cabbage near the end if you like your veggies crisp like I do. I am not a big fan of cumin so I only used 1/8 tsp. Yes, it is very chilli-like and not really a soup. Try over rice and melting some cheese on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Demetria
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I made this last night in the crock pot and it was delicious! I added polish sausage, and used lean turkey vs. ground beef, 2 cans of light kidney beans, 2 cans of chopped tomoatoes, some fresh garlic clove, garlic powder, season salt, and I used an entire head of chopped cabbage and put the cabbage in last so that it would not get over cooked. I also did not add the water, because cabbage produces water when it cooks. I am giving this 5 stars because it was very flavorful and healthy using the ground turkey and light ingredients. I will post pictures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demetria

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I really like this. Made mine with spagetti sauce (because that is what I had), left out the water, beef bouillion cubes, and cumin), made if more of a chili. Want to try it next with the cumin and tomato sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This soup was great, however, I opted for v8 as a base instead of tomatoe sauce, seemed to have more flavor. and lots of garlic salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Wasn't for me. Family thought it was okay, but I didn't like it. I didn't change the recipe at all. Reviewers are right, it does taste like cabbage chili. At first bite, I didn't mind but then the more I tried it, the more it wasn't for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
As written, this recipe was just okay. This is basically a thin, bland chili with cabbage. People who rated it higher than 3 stars must have made some modifications to zest it up a bit. I personally found that some hot sauce perked it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Very good! Used a bag of pre-shredd cabbage and carrots, and followed some of the reviews and used one can kidney beans and one can chili beans. Also used a large 24 oz can of Rotel in place of the tomato sauce, and just 1 cup of water. Yes, it is very much like chili with cabbage, but I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Home run. I did make a few changes as I'm on a diet and am diabetic so wanted to make it a little friendlier for me to eat. I used ground turkey instead of ground beef. I also added a large can of diced tomatoes with juice in addition to the tomato sauce. And finally, I threw in an extra can of kidney beans to up the protein content and added about two tablespoons of minced garlic. We love garlic. Thanks for the post. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This was so good. I added black beans and pinto beans in mine. It taste like chili when make it but with cabbage in it. Really good very healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States