Cabbage Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
By far one of THE BEST meals I have prepared and eaten. I have shared the meal and recipe with so many people, all of whom have the same opinion.....delizioso!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
This was fantastic! The only change I made was omitted the kidney beans and instead, I used cooked brown rice that I added in the last hour of simmering. It tasted just like what we call "pigeons" (or stuffed cabbage rolls) here in PA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Delicious and healthy. I substituted 2 lbs of ground turkey for the beef and don't use the beans. I also included a can of chopped tomatoes and substituted one of the cups of water for 1 cup of beef broth. A big hit with my husband and my 3-year old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
wonderful. I added some diced tomatoes and used half pintos and half red kidney beans.this is a no fail soup,gets better the next day,also a good freezing soup. Thanks for the versatile,affordable lunch and dinner dish recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
My husband loved this. I added 2 cups more water as we like our soup a little more juicy. I also added a dash of Worchestershire and a tablespoon of crushed red pepper for a bit of zing and spice. I just made our second pot of this last night. A big 2 thumbs up for this cabbage soup recipe. The best part about it, it's even better the 2nd day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
For even fewer calories, try making with ground turkey instead of beef. Still absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
No one in my family really liked this. I really don't know why it just didn't do anything for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Fantastic soup, one of my favorites on this site! Very adaptable to tweeks. I do not use the oil when cooking the beef and onion and I do add 2 cloves of garlic to the mix. I use beef broth instead of water and thus do not use the bouillon, a 28 oz can of whole peeled tomatoes crushed well instead of tomato sauce and include a stalk of celery diced. I like it cooked in the slow cooker and do so for about 3 hours on high. When the cabbage is tender I adjust seasoning to taste and add a little bouillon then instead of salt for a deeper beef flavor. I like the flavor the cumin adds but I don't think it tastes like chili because to me chili needs chili powder. Another plus about this soup is that it freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
This was super easy, healthy and tasted really good! I used a whole medium onion instead of 1/2. In stead of measuring out the cabbage I just chopped up a whole medium size cabbage. Cabbage doesn't have to be finely chopped. I added a can of diced tomatoes with the juice and as far as the cumin, I just sprinkled on a bit and that was enough :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I used this recipe as a guideline really, but what came out of it was delicious! Here are my changes: I added a large carrot, 3 stalks of celery, I used 1 large tomato and a 1/3 cup tomato sauce, and I added a bunch of paprika and oregano and left out the salt. I had to change a lot of the ratios due to having a small crockpot, so it turned out a tad salty, I should have used left one or two of the bouillon cubes out. The cabbage wouldn't fit in the crockpot, so I left it to cook all day, and then transferred it to a pot, added the cabbage and simmered for about 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 354) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States