Cabbage Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I used this recipe as a guideline really, but what came out of it was delicious! Here are my changes: I added a large carrot, 3 stalks of celery, I used 1 large tomato and a 1/3 cup tomato sauce, and I added a bunch of paprika and oregano and left out the salt. I had to change a lot of the ratios due to having a small crockpot, so it turned out a tad salty, I should have used left one or two of the bouillon cubes out. The cabbage wouldn't fit in the crockpot, so I left it to cook all day, and then transferred it to a pot, added the cabbage and simmered for about 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
this was very good. didnt have the cubes so i subbed a can of beef gravy. I also put my onions in the cooker raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
used a whole head of cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaWI
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RetiredDad9877

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wooster, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I really enjoyed this soup...was a little chili like, but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Cabbage Beef Soup Haiku: "Really liked this soup. (Thicker, and more like a stew.) Just missing ... something.) This soup was pretty well received at dinner b/c we adore cabbage, but it's just not quite as good as AR's "Cabbage Patch Stew"; still, I'm glad we tried this, and any meal's a win to me that's ready from morning in the crockpot, right to serving when I get home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Excellent soup!! We couldn't get enough. We only used 2 bouillon cubes and added green beans, green pepper, celery and carrots. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Thanks for a great recipe! I have made this many, many times now and don't know why I haven't rated before. My son is allergic to chili powder and this has become our replacement for chili. I make it according to the directions except for substituting black beans for kidney beans. This recipe makes a flavourful, mild thick soup or thin chili. We serve with a bottle of Sriracha Hot Chili Sauce, guacamole, sour cream and either tortilla chips or warm French bread. This recipe freezes and reheats well. (Note: I have used both packaged coleslaw mix and fresh chopped cabbage. The fresh chopped cabbage provides a better texture for the cooked cabbage but I use the packaged if it is on sale or if I am trying to save on preparation time.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Q

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
I loved the soup. My husband not as much. I thought it was a great flavor, very hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Independence, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States