Cabbage Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Delicious! My husband claims to despise cabbage, but never even knew it was in there and loved it! I only used 1 can of beans, deleted the cumin, added more stock and a bunch of garlic. I also simmered it on stove for a few hours. Very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellykulpa
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
great recipe, my favourite from now. I gave only 3 bouillon cubes, little more cabbage and chopped tomatoes. Tastes great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I really enjoyed this! I replaced the beef with MS veggie crumbles, and replaced the beef bouillon with chicken bouillon (what I had available), but I don't think those changes were very drastic from the original recipe. Hearty, yet not heavy, filling, and you can feel good about it. I'm sure I will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
My husband and son love this. I substitute beef broth for the water and beef bouillon cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moundville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Excellent.....We loved it very much. We will be making it again and again. I did put cabbage in halfway through...Thanks for a great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I wanted it to be done in less than 4 hours, so I cooked this on the stove instead of a crock pot. I used dried beans (soaked overnight, and then cooked for only about 30 minutes and then measured into 32oz and added to the soup). I feel there was too many beans and not enough beef or cabbage. Next time I would cut the amount of beans in half and double the cabbage. Also, the cabbage should be added with only an hour or two of cooking time left so that it keeps a nice texture/flavor. I only used about a tsp of the cumin and added some thyme, marjoram, sage, and parsley. I served this with the herb bread from this site and it was tasty! It made a lot of soup, too! perfect for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by talkn3rdytome

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Pulled this together with what I had on hand. Used one 15 oz. can tomato sauce and chopped 3 plum tomatoes, 1 can pinto and 1 can black (our favorites), substituted beef broth for the water and bouillon. Used a whole onion. Followed previous suggestions and cut the cumin down to 1t, used 1t of garlic powder, and chopped a whole head of cabbage. Looking at some similar recipes I added 3T apple cider vinegar and 2T sugar at the end to improve the flavor. Last thing, I would definitely put the cabbage in at the very beginning. It cooks perfectly and melts in your mouth! Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I made this on the stovetop, and added about 1/2 bag of Birdseye Steamfresh frozen long-grain rice...this addition really made it taste like stuffed cabbage soup. I loved it!!! Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowellville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Delicious! I seasoned ground beef & sauteed with onions. Substituted 2 cans of petite diced tomatoes for the tomato sauce, & 3 cups of Emeril's Organic Beef Broth for bouillon cubes/water + 1 cup of chick broth. We like a brothy soup! I did leave out the cumin based on previous reviews & used all of a small head of cabbage. I did this on the stove top in a ceramic cast iron pot after bringing all ingredients to a small boil, then simmered covered for 2 hours on low. My hubby raved about it & I enjoyed it as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Very good! The pickiest men in the family LOVED it especially (which says alot)! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotdiggitydogs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States