Cabbage Balushka or Cabbage and Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
This is really good. I will throw in some extra ham or bacon if I have it, but it is also wonderful as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
Good, but cook with bacon and use some of the grease instead of butter. Lots of paprika and pepper and you got a whole meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Will Drotar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
Delicious and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
My mom and grandma were hungarian. They made this dish often, and i am so glad i found this recipe so i can carry on the tradition.. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
We loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I love this dish, my dad is Hungarian and it tastes just like how he always made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Andrejcak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Powhatan, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
This is just like the recipe my Hungarian grandmother made. But here's a little secret: sprinkle your serving with a little sugar- about 1/2 tsp. Trust me on this. My grandmother always did it and I loved it but thought it was just something she did. Then one day when the adventurous chef in our hospital cafeteria served cabbage noodles, I noticed a woman at the next table sprinkling a packet of sugar over hers. I asked if she was Hungarian and she said yes and that this was the only way she liked her cabbage noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Palmyra, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
This was great, quick, easy and taste amazing. I added a little chicken soup base to give it a little more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
This was devoured and received rave reviews from my family. We love cabbage so I'm not sure why some people wanted to get rid of the cabbage flavor. I did make one change for my meat loving husband - I added four sweet italian sausages sliced up with the butter and onions and cooked until browned then added the cabbage and cooked low until we were all drooling over the pan. Great as is or with the noodles - a little sour cream is a good addition but it is also tasty without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I have made this for a long time and believe the secret to flavor is to brown the cabbage a little and add more fresh ground pepper than you would think. Taste as you go to make sure it isn't too peppery for everyone you are feeding. We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States