Cabbage Balushka or Cabbage and Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I make this with browning 3 strips of bacon. then remove bacon use some of the grease to cook the cabbage.then cit up some kilboska and add the cooked noodles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William Prucknic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Came out a bit too bland for our tastes....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COD3ELF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gila Bend, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
i was looking for something to make for bf's lunch this week and stumbled across this.. it came out so good i had a small plate of it for lunch.. i cut this in half and used 3 T of margarine instead of the whole 1/4 cup.. i think my onion and cabbage were on the smaller side because i felt the dish could have had a little more of both.. i added a clove of garlic.. went heavy on the pepper b/c bf loves it.. and used chicken bouillon granules instead of salt when seasoning to taste.. i also added some turkey slices that i diced up for a protein component.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mmktanner
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Very good & easy! My hubby insists on a meat so we use turkey sausage. I also throw a teaspoon of minced garlic in with the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Very simple comfort food. It makes a nice homey dish for a cold winter evening. Sometimes I go crazy and add turkey bacon or, cook the cabbage down in a little chicken broth. I always add some garlic. This dish really isn't anything special (in fact, overall it's pretty bland)and yet, it always gets gobbled up. Served with crusty bread slathered in butter and cheap red wine served European style in a short chunky glass - it seems to appeal to a sense of primal peasantry and, a longing for simpler times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
We make this all of the time. I add green peppers. we eat it with hot dogs. sometimes we don't add the noodles. it is great either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louise Stevens

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I added some leftover seasoned diced pork loin to the stir fry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki Allen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
My husband was skeptical but after the first bite it won him over! I used some leftover frozen honey baked ham and a couple of Tbs. Of bacon grease that I keep in a small jar in the fridge. I made my own egg noodles, and added a clove of garlic. Everything else I kept the same. I agree that carmelizing the onion and the cabbage added so much flavor. I doubled the recipe so my daughter would have a couple of servings to take to school for lunch... She liked it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorlak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
In my Hungarian grandmother's version, there might even be more butter! However, I use less than she did - and I use part bacon grease. Hard to go wrong, that way! I agree with others: it's better if the cabbage is cooked for longer; it's softer and sweeter and gains a better flavor. The real trick, I think, is adding more pepper than you might think to. As a general rule, I don't use black pepper - the smell turns me off - but with this, give some liberal shakes. Not enough to make it spicy, but enough to give it flavor. Use a little more salt that you'd think to, too - delicious and inexpensive! I added a few mushrooms because I had them, and a little bacon. Even the three-year-old asked for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
This is similar to my Hungarian grandmother's recipe, however, she cooked the cabbage slowly in bacon grease-lard for added flavor (so this no longer is a 25 minute recipe) and added celery seed. I love it as a side dish but add browned ground beef as a main dish. My son calls it the original "Hamburger Helper minus the box."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States