Cabbage Balushka or Cabbage and Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I've been making this for years and there is nothing wrong with it as is. For those that are looking for more; try adding 6 cloves of chopped garlic, 1 Tbl. caraway seeds, and some smoked Polish sausage (kielbasa) and make a main dish out of it. Finishing it with sour cream is optional. Serve with rye bread and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
this recipe is excatly like my Polish grandmother usd to make me when i was young. By adding meat, oils, and/or eliminating oils ( boil cabbage with onions and garlic cloves) you can adjust this recipe for any dietary needs, its so versitile!! Comfort food at its best! Tho we called it something else, ( in Polish ) its a wonderful recipe! I love the dfernt adds/changes and suggestions. Its easily modified to your tastes or available ingredients, so try something new! Thanx for bringing an old traditional recipe to a new generation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I grew up eating this dish! My grandma sometimes made it and added kielbasa. Always cooked the cabbage & onions in butter & bacon grease. Love this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delta, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
My Austro -Hungarian grandma called it Krautflerln,, My favorite food as a child. I make it often with bits of leftover roast pork, some garlic and plenty of black pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon R Wagner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I make this with browning 3 strips of bacon. then remove bacon use some of the grease to cook the cabbage.then cit up some kilboska and add the cooked noodles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William Prucknic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Came out a bit too bland for our tastes....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COD3ELF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gila Bend, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
i was looking for something to make for bf's lunch this week and stumbled across this.. it came out so good i had a small plate of it for lunch.. i cut this in half and used 3 T of margarine instead of the whole 1/4 cup.. i think my onion and cabbage were on the smaller side because i felt the dish could have had a little more of both.. i added a clove of garlic.. went heavy on the pepper b/c bf loves it.. and used chicken bouillon granules instead of salt when seasoning to taste.. i also added some turkey slices that i diced up for a protein component.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mmktanner
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Very good & easy! My hubby insists on a meat so we use turkey sausage. I also throw a teaspoon of minced garlic in with the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Very simple comfort food. It makes a nice homey dish for a cold winter evening. Sometimes I go crazy and add turkey bacon or, cook the cabbage down in a little chicken broth. I always add some garlic. This dish really isn't anything special (in fact, overall it's pretty bland)and yet, it always gets gobbled up. Served with crusty bread slathered in butter and cheap red wine served European style in a short chunky glass - it seems to appeal to a sense of primal peasantry and, a longing for simpler times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
We make this all of the time. I add green peppers. we eat it with hot dogs. sometimes we don't add the noodles. it is great either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louise Stevens

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States