Cabbage Balushka or Cabbage and Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
When growing up my mom made something similar that I LOVED, she would fry a pound of ground breakfast sausage and into it would fry the cabbage and add the egg noodles and salt and pepper. Pretty much the same recipe but without the butter since she would use the sausage fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret Syrotiak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
My mom taught me to make this with sliced polish sausage. It is much more flavorful with the sausage. She just called it sausage and cabbage and noodles. I love it and so does my husband. My mom was German. So, as with many recipes that come from the slavic region of the world; each little pocket of people developed their own spin on it. I usechicken broth, sometimes some garlic powder, and always onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I have made this for years added a ring of sliced kolbasa to the mixins. Works for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
This was great. I used about half the amount of butter and added a little olive oil to reduce the saturated fats and I cooked the cabbage longer than stated. Otherwise stuck to the recipe and it was perfect. Made a ham steak on the side for hubby and son and tofu for me. Will keep this one for sure. Everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I grew up in Pittsburgh PA. My mom fixed this all the time but we called it Haluski which is the Slovak name I believe. This recipe is delicious all by itself or with bacon or corned beef added. It can be a main dish or a side dish. Either way it is delicious but definitely NOT low calorie with all the butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean Vance

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I have made a variation on this recipe, which I think would be much more flavorful. I use a box of perogies, cooked using package directions, instead of the noodles. The box makes less than the package of noodles, so I use half a head of cabbage with a large onion, some yellow mustard seed and allspice. If it doesn't need to be vegetarian, I also add kielbasa (about 3 servings). This serves 3 people with a little of the cabbage topping to be used as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I too, thought this recipe was lacking in the flavor department, so I added a large can of undrained sauerkraut. Problem solved! love to cook in southwest Pa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
This is known as halushki around here...our church makes this by the gallons each year for our Harvest Fest & people are quite happy to buy it & eat it up! My kids love it. Inexpensive...be sure to use real butter for the best taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
My Czech great-grandmother made this dish quite often. She started by cooking a pound of bacon and using some (not all) of the bacon grease to cook the cabbage in a large skillet. The cabbage was grated to a very fine consistency using a box grater before cooking. The bacon flavor permeates the grated cabbage. She did not use onions, and she discarded the bacon, but our family chops the bacon and adds some back into the cabbage and noodles before serving. This is a one of my dad's all-time favorite meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I have made this recipe a lot and it is always a hit. When I take it to a covered dish dinner it is the first thing to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States