Cabbage Au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
steam cabbage instead of boiling. make a rouk with cooking the butter add flour and a little mustard for a tang and grate the cheese on top... ( read 1st review for and suggestions...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
good but instead of layering the cabbage & bechamel and american cheese slices I added shredded sharp cheddar to the bechamel and then added the steamed cabbage (don't boil the cabbage - it is easily overcooked and too limp) then into casserole and topped with bread crumbs - add breadcrumbs about half hour into the baking for toasted but not burnt crumbs or cover for the first half hour and then remove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
tried it and the whole family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAGISIS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
this was really good. after reading all the reviews i didnt precook the cabbage and i used much less than called for. i sauteed some onion and garlic w/ the margarine before making the bechamel sauce. then i added some shredded carrots to my finely sliced cabbage. salt and pepper made this wonderful. it really reminded me of mac and cheese. i melted some margarine w/ the bread crumbs and added those 10 mins before the end of baking time.i will make this again.next time i will melt the cheese into the bechamel sauce so i dont have to cut it. served this w/ tuna coney dogs from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Just followed the directions. I took it to a get together and everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
This is a delicious dish. I scaled it down for two, but didn't use nearly as much cabbage as specified in the recipe. As listed that's a lot of cabbage. I also didn't pre-cook the cabbage. And I added a teaspoon or so of parmesan to the roux - otherwise I followed the recipe exactly and the dish was cooked perfectly. Will be using this recipe again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
Not bitter at all -- sweet and cheesy. Make sure to let the white sauce thicken before spreading it. We liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle D.
Reviewed: May 15, 2006
The family just loved thus recipe. It is very easy to make, and I will be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
My husband gave me the ultimate compliment saying, "You can make this again!" Here is what I did - steam the cabbage (healthier and tastier than boiling). Make a bechamel sauce with butter, flour (I used Wondra) and 1 cup of milk. Add salt and pepper to taste. Layer the tender cabbage, bechamel and grated Swiss cheese. Bake until golden on top and bubbly around the sides. Next time we're going to add a little mustard to the bechamel for extra tang. But it's delicious as is. I would have rated this higher, but I did make some changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jubileve
Living In: North Port, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
Surprisingly good! This makes much more than 6 servings though, so cut it in half. I did not put the bread crumbs on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIEKAE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States