Cabbage and Smoked Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
I LOVE THIS SOUP! I couldn't get enough of it and my husband, who is a polish soup lover, wants me to make this one again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Great recipe! Just made a few changes by adding 3 cans of low sodium chicken broth instead of water (leaving out the boullion cubes); skipped the tomato sauce but added the crushed tomatoes; skipped the rice (can add potato cubes during the last half hour of cooking.... for the consistency of a "stoup".... A meal in itself with 'hard' bread.) Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanacool

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
My kitchen smelled soooo good while this was simmering. Very easy. I added two teaspoons of kosher salt and coubled the rice. My Polish grandmother would have loved this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
This was a hit! My kids even liked it and they are pretty picky. It isn't my little one's favorite but at least she ate it (she said "This isn't too bad"). I ended up not adding the tomato sauce just because I was out of it without realizing. I did add 2 cloves of garlic but it could have used one more I think. I also added a couple of pinches of basil. I substituted smoked turkey sausage for a healthier alternative. Then I served it all with garlic bread. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This was a fantastically simple and delicious recipe! We did not change a thing but I can see where you could easily use different ingredients based on what you have in the pantry. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sides Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johannesburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This was really tasty and will definately be made again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I made this for my Christmas Eve dinner, and my dad LOVED it. The carrots took longer to cook than the recipe says, but that could just be my cooking technique (I'm just getting into regular cooking). This becomes very thick, so I did add some beef broth to it when I heated it up the next day. Also, it says one head of cabbage...they should say one medium head because it's a lot of cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBER73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
We loved this recipe, I added extra tomato sauce and more water. I also used smoked turkey sausage to keep it healthier. It was more like what Rachel Ray calls Stoup! Yum-oh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
Very good recipe...quick, simple and great tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Excellent soup. It thickened quite a bit after a while so next time I might add a little extra liquid like tomatoe juice or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States